Disadvantages of a left-handed gamer - Happy to have my steam controller here!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #blog7 years ago

I recently tried out a MMORPG called Skyforge. Like all the other RPGs or Shooting games you walk by pressing WASD and in this game the interactions were triggerd with the space key. Most of you will ask "And where's the problem?" - and here it starts.

While using my right hand I'm totally failing in everything I do. It's like writing with your left hand, when you're a righty. All that's coming out is some scrawly handwriting no one can read. So now imagine some Counter-Strike let's play where the player is starring uncontrollable in different directions. He/She would never get the chance to hit any opponent and the viewers would probably get sick.

So what do I do? I use my left hand to control the game's camera. Using the WASD keys is not a big deal with my right, but when it comes to some interactions, casting spells, open the inventory and these kind of things I'm getting lost. Maybe I just have to adjust to this, but I'm a big fan ob usability and intuitive controls. A friend told me lately that there are some mouses specifically for MMORPGs so I could give it a try, but I don't think that these will fit my needs.

That's why I'm verry happy that so many game developer start to support gamepads. I really learned to love the steam controller. At first it felt very uncommon but time passed and now it's one of my favorite gamepads besides the playstation 3 controller. In steam you can assign any keyboard key to one button of the steam controller. You can even emulate mouse movements with the right trackpad. And that's not all: Even though not all games have gamepad support, you can however use the steam controller to play it. The only restriction is the lack of a keyboard if you have to put in a name or something like that. Had this problem at the beginning of stardew valley, but these kind of games do not have lots of these inputs.

In combination with the steam link I can even play computer games from the couch or my bed (yup, I'm very lazy). So maybe all you rightys now understand, why we leftys love to play on a gamepad. It's equal for both of us.

Sort:  

Strange, I've always assumed left-handed gamers would use the other side of the keyboard instead should they use a left handed mouse e.g WASD, becomes PL;'

Thanks for your reply! I also tried this approach but it didnt' work out so well. Maybe I'm just not really into this. I don't want to spend hours of optimizing the configuration. I want to play immediately :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61949.37
ETH 2415.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65