the need for strategy, March 16thsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #blog6 years ago

Indolent Thinking


A younger guy, not unlike myself, voiced his opinion on the shooting arrangements of our fair city. He pines that, ‘for his genre, his style, endeavors in Boston are dead horse beatings.’ He’s no time for different subjects, and his heart is set on travels abroad. A mentor to me, today, over lunch suggested similar thoughts. Experience abroad would open my eyes and I would experience unparalleled character development, levels greater than if I chose to remain.

I see the merit in both of their views, and even agree to some extent. But what I’d like to offer is this. After a long journey, and even before a thrilling new adventure, there’s no place like home. I’ve desires to travel, and yearnings to grow, yet that’s not all there is to it. I think what Preston desires I understand, and what Max may misunderstand, is the need for strategy. The same way I can’t laze about on the green pastures of comfort forever, or dive head first into a do-or-die gambit for glory, I need a vision for my path. I’d like a magazine. My photos in print, a hand in a business I love, and to lend my expertise to develop my community. With such an ornate web of aspirations, I need to string along the finest strand of silk, or I’ll fail to catch my dreams.

I haven’t given it much thought, where I see myself in five years, but that changes today.


It's time to up the ante.

Sort:  

You got a 1.98% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @thatkidsblack! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 60 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62264.03
ETH 2431.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50