Game of Life

in #blog7 years ago

I’ve been doing a lot of thinking about the implications around life and death, and my conclusion so far is that when people ponder their own difference between life and death, it is impossible. The brain only experiences while it is existing. Your brain can witness other brains being disassembled on the atomic level, understand that the consciousness is being destroyed, but not know what that implies.

Ultimate nothing. Terminal zero. True understanding or perspective cannot arise, only logical conclusion from an outside perspective. This logical conclusion is tainted by the brain that has only experienced existence, and so the logical conclusion is doomed from the start. A failed effort.

For the sake of fun I will try to describe what I have regarded as “after death”. It’s not a location, but a scene of imagined symbolism. Removed from time and space and no senses applied, what I imagine can only be described as a ‘wide nothing’.

It has scared me since I was young. As a 19-year-old, it doesn’t scare me, but it will scare me once again. Standing at the edge.

But it shouldn’t! I will never experience nothingness. I won’t. It’s not an obstacle I have to overcome. My life may stop before I would like it too, but all death is too early.

What am I saying? This is a problem that is completely in my head. It’s self-harm, a waste of thought. Why would I let myself worry about death, when I can instead use that attention focusing on the beauty of life?

I don’t need to worry about death because it isn’t something my physical brain can comprehend. I instead will focus on what my physical brain can understand, which is beauty and art and all the lively things it is accustomed to.

I’m Tristan; a writer and computer networking student. I try to blog about the thoughts I don’t want to see die. Check out my blog: http://tfj.pw

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60678.52
ETH 2339.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48