Emotions and Assumptions

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

Emotions and Assumptions

I regard emotions as in two categories; passions and resting emotions. Your passions will appear in times of distress. They will block logic, incite chaos, and generally go against rationality in general. Examples of this would be rage, anxiety, arousal, and the like. The inverse to these are resting emotions. These are emotions that can exist in harmony with your logic and rational side. Feelings of contentment, comfort, general happiness. Clear conscious and peace of mind are in this category.

What I have observed for myself is that passions typically only trouble me when I have some deeper assumption that reality proves to be false. These assumptions may or may not be directly in my favor – just the fact that the assumptions are ripped from my reality – that’s what summons passions.

It’s easy to forget about nature and the fact that nothing is permanent. I do it consistently without realizing it, however the goal is to reduce that occurrence. Recently I had to pay for car repairs. Before this event snuck up on me, I was meditating on the fact that my car wouldn’t last forever. When it was time for fate to adjust my perspective, I was not distressed over the $1000 it cost. I was expecting it to happen, any false assumption was removed, and no passions arose.

I believe this is an important exercise in regular life, if we are to assume that logic and rationality bring good virtue. So far this seems to be the case; but I’m ready to adapt if not.

http://tfj.pw/emotions-and-assumptions/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70797.92
ETH 3553.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76