Modifying a Kid's Sleeveless to a Puppy's Clothing by Hand Sewing

in #blog7 years ago


I am never talented when it comes to sewing. I remember when I transferred to a new high school in the city from the countryside, I had to adjust a lot with their TLE(Technology and Livelihood Education). In the province, we were focused on Entrepreneurship as well as drafting, however, in the city they had sewing classes. Not hand sewing but with the use of sewing machines. It was really a struggle for me at first unlike my classmates who started practicing in the first grading, while I started immediately during third grading.

I can never forget the first time I received a 79 grade for a project. That was sewing short pants. I was super sad and disappointed, but I couldn't blame myself either because I did my best. I struggled and practiced more and more. The next projects we had were a "hotdog pillow with a pillowcase" and a pair of pajama. Guess what? Believe it or not from 79, my next grades were 89 and 92. Yaaaaay~!!!

Anyway, I wonder if I can still remember how to use the sewing machine. I haven't used any since high school and that was more or less 10 years ago. haha.. xD I'm old... T_T

Today, I'm going to share how I tried to modify a kid's sleeveless into something my dog can wear.

z.jpg



Hand sewing isn't that simple either, but I'm more used to it that the sewing machine. Since I started cosplaying, I sometimes just buy from the second hand shop and do some modifications. hihi ^^ Okay, let's start...


APDC0233.JPG


This is the original sleeveless shirt. My small dog can actually wear this already, but every time he tries to pee, the shirt would be a mess. lol So I decided to do some modification to it.

APDC0234.JPG

First, I tried to cut the sides of the shirt.

APDC0235.JPG

Turning it on the wrong side, I folded it as seen above.

APDC0236.JPG

I then cut the side part of the folded area as seen above.

APDC0237.JPG

Using the buttonhole stitch, I started stitching from the side part of the folded area.

APDC0238.JPG

I sealed the whole folded are using the same stitch.

APDC0239.JPG

Here's how it looks like in the correct side of the shirt.

APDC0239.JPG

The length of the back portion of the shirt can remain the same. So, what I did was fold the sides as seen on the picture and stitched it up using the same stitch earlier.

APDC0240.JPG

Here's how it looked like. ^^

I'm practically done modifying the length and size of the shirt to fit Arashi. However, the arm hole is actually pretty big for my doggy, so I decided to adjust it as well.

APDC0241.JPG

This is the original size of the arm hole. When Arashi wears it and moves around a lot, tendency is he'll take it off because of the loose arm hole.

APDC0243.JPG

So, I made it smaller... Here's how it looks like now. ^^

All modifications done! So, let me present the final product.

APDC0244.JPG



I enjoy sewing! I wonder if I should get a sewing machine to practice again. It would be easier to modify and even make dresses, bed sheets, pillows, curtains, etc. And maybe... I'll get back to cosplay if given the chance? hahaha xD Anyway, I hope you enjoyed this post. I'll share some pictures of Arashi below wearing the shirt.

He is camera shy, so please bear with them.. ^^


APDC0245.JPG


APDC0246.JPG


APDC0247.JPG


APDC0250.JPG


APDC0251.JPG



Thanks a lot for dropping by!
それではまた~
Love lots, @tegoshei

Sort:  

Haha I don't like sewing either nor do my sisters :D
I had to sew last year and I didn't feel like doing it. I had to make a baby dress 😥 So I had 0 marks out of 20.
Well it's great that you've got to like sewing so that you can modify your two little sisters' clothes haha :D

Anyway shei, great job. Arashi looks great with that.

My grandma was a dressmaker. :) Well, I didn't like sewing either... But when your hobbies need it, you'd have no choice.. hahaha.. ^^ Modification would be easier than making one from scratch.. but it's interesting to learn. ^^
Thank you my imouto! I heard from Mashi that you're busy with school again.. Hang in there! ^^

Haha yeah. I'm able to Steem on like this because it's the week end. I don't have time to even to move a finger on school days. But you've got Mashi as for me :D

So I've heard... DOn't forget to enjoy school, too... Make precious memories with classmates and friends. Love yah imouto-chan~!!! ^^

Thank you nee-chan ^^

You're very much welcome.. :)

Your dog is so cute😍. Good job @tegoshei, you are a talented and creative seamstress.
You can check out my posts @adedoyinwealth in your free time.
♥️

Thank you so much... I'll visit you in a bit... :) Have a nice day and thanks for dropping by! ^^

You are always welcome dear😍. Enjoyed reading your post. Following you now and would tell all my friends on steemit to follow you too🤗♥️. Waiting for your next sweet post @tegoshei

Ohh.. That's so nice of you! :) No worries.. Followed you back, too... See you around! ^^

It's very interesting dear , you are good modified baby's cloths and great looks puppy.

Thank you so much...

Arashi is so cute and so is his shirt. He doesn't mind wearing it? Do other people dress their dogs there? Just curious. : )

Thanks Deb! It depends on the owner... Arashi doesn't wear clothes all the time.. The thing is, he had some skin problem and if he doesn't wear clothes, he'll scratch the almost healed wound.. We had to cover it.. Apart from that, he only wears one when it's colder than usual..

I am happy to hear that his wound is almost healed. I know you made that for him with extra love. So sweet! : )

thank you, Deb!! ^^

Oh your dog is very cute and you did a great job in sewing @tegoshei .I dont like sewing though and I am not sure if I can learn haha but reading your blog makes me want to try it soon haha .

Hihihi... Thank you so much.. :) Sewing can be tiresome but knowing how it works can be very handy as well. ^^

I'm so bad at sewing...you did a great job! It looks good on him!

Yaaay~!!! Thanks sis... ^^ It can be learned... ;) I have a lot to improve in terms of sewing, too.. hihi ^^

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63811.18
ETH 2610.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83