MANHWA TIME: Cats and Dogs by Park Hee Jung

in #blog6 years ago


It's Manhwa time again my dears! Since I really haven't gotten back to work yet, I spend my time reading and reviewing manhwa, manga,or whatever I find interesting and share them here on Steemit. It just makes me happy how some Steemians look forward to my reviews and stuff. Shoutout to my friend HeeHee or @heeheenim. She sent me a comment which made me happy and eager to post more manhwa/manga reviews.

If you're interested to read, feel free to check my review on the manhwa called The Strange Story of a Guy Next Door and a Novelist.





Thanks for this comment and I hope you'll find time to submit to these temptations. lol

Today, I'm going to share another Korean Manhwa which got my interest. It's called Cats and Dogs by Park Hee Jung.

001.jpg
Screenshot from the manga site



Honestly, I was in two minds whether to read this manhwa or not. It is tagged as "Romance" and yeah, I'm not really a fan of such genre unless it's fantasy, tragic or BL. However, the art style looked really stunning for me that I want to see more. So, I gave it a shot.

More than romance, I can categorize this manhwa under the "Slice of Life" genre. Take a look at the summary above. The story itself talks about various bits of life... the infamous arranged marriage, hard-to-deal exes, complicated feelings. Aside from that, there's also a bit about complicated family relationships, friendships, money, etc.

Although we're not actors or actresses, but somehow the story is pretty much relatable to most people.


002.jpg
Screenshot from the manga site



The two main characters, Seul-Woo (the actor) and Young-Woo (a countryside princess) were arranged to get married by their grandfathers. Actually, in the middle of the story, you'll find a twist regarding this marriage which I personally found interesting.

After this encounter when they were kids, they haven't met until the day of their marriage. Seul-Woo has this on and off girlfriend who is also a celebrity like him. Somehow, I can describe their relationship as parasitic although they were genuinely in love at first.


005.jpg
Screenshot from the manga site



However, in the end, it's the girl who kept hurting the guy though she's also the one who's very dependent on him. I actually hated her bitchy character. When you read the story, you'll get to understand why. xD She's really far from the naive, innocent and lovable main character.


003.jpg
Screenshot from the manga site



Ahh.. I really like the art style.. huhuhu Anyway, above is Young-Woo. She is such a darling who has been pretty much in love with Seul-Woo. Being married to him is like a dream come true for her. She dreamt of having a fairytale of her own. However, "happily ever after" is such a difficult thing to achieve. Being married to a guy with too much complications (family and other relationship) made her fairytale a roller coaster ride.


004.jpg
Screenshot from the manga site



When I said "complicated family", it's this. Seul-Woo's mother is as bitchy as his ex-girlfriend. For her, money is everything and she's basically living off her son. Ugh! I also hate her. Well, having a bitchy mother is just the tip of the iceberg. If I were Seul-Woo, I'd also ask myself... "What did I do wrong in my past life to deserve this?" xD


007.jpg
Screenshot from the manga site



Since I've been talking about my hated characters, let me add this douche on the list. He's the CEO of the talent agency who is very biased on the talent which brings them money. He's willing to destroy everyone else for as long as, his favorite will not be put to shame. This is something I don't like about the entertainment industry... more than the talent, they showcase fame more.

Let me get out of the manhwa for a bit... In my country, there are a lot of very good singers or celebrities who deserve to have an album or a concert. But since they're not famous enough, their spot in the music industry is being given to celebrities with fame and face, but not with talent. It's frustrating, to be honest.



Okay, going back... despite having these characters, there are also other characters which are very lovable and interesting. One of them is the actor's best friend who is also a celebrity. His name is Jae Min Song.


006.jpg
Screenshot from the manga site



More than his heart, he values his friends more. I find his character really selfless. He's more of a family to Seul-Woo than his real family. Although there were some scenes where my heart ached for him, but then you'll realize how important having a real friend is.


010.jpg
Screenshot from the manga site



And then, there's an idol called Girim Kim. At first, he seemed despicable but you'll learn to love his character. He's like a sunshine amidst the storm. His appearance in the story isn't much, but he played a very essential part as well.


011.jpg
Screenshot from the manga site



Then there's this idiotic pair. Seul-Woo's agent, Ms. Lee and another friend who was an ex-celebrity now a cafe owner. Ohh.. These two has an interesting secret, too. And it's for you to find out. hihihi~

Well, even though the manhwa is tagged as "Romance", it's not the typical romantic type of stories. It's actually quite dark and serious, but I enjoyed reading it. I like how every character was unique and their development is pretty interesting. Building up interesting characters individually will really have a positive impact on the story.

I'll leave you with two screenshots. This is one of my favorite scenes in the "Romance" section. But really, there's more to the story than these.

008.jpg
Screenshot from the manga site



009.jpg
Screenshot from the manga site



And there you go. I hope you enjoy this post. Thanks for reading and have a lovely one! <3 Enjoy life! ;)


PS: I actually don't know why it's entitled "Cats And Dogs", it's not the typical "cat and dog type of relationship".. hahaha~ See you!

Sort:  

And a MOuSE here.
Helloooo!?

🐁

Mr. Mouse!!!! Hellooooooo!!!! ^^

Omg omg omg omg I am currently reading this manhwa @tegoshei ♥️ I just started it last week (reading it slowly) para di ko mahutdan hahahah mej nasa middle part pako. Gwapo kaayu ilang pagdrawing mayghad hahaha! I'm so happy kani imong napili today XD

Posted using Partiko Android

Dba??? As in nadani jud ko tungod sa art ba ky dili man kaayo ko hilig og romance nya hetero.. lol.. xD Pero maygulay!!! Lami kaayo ang pagkadrawing... huhuhuhu~TT Pero infairness nice ang story... <3

アメコミのような絵だと思った。

本当ですか?ひひ~
ちょっとみたいね

アメコミって、分かる?

アメコミはアメリカのコミックス?

そうそう。スゴイね!日本人でも分からない人がいそうなのに。

Posted using Partiko iOS

I just guessed it. It's common in Otaku world.. haha..
たとえば:

  • 弱虫ペダル   = よわぺだ
  • 歌のプリンス様 = うたぷり
  • テニスの王子様 = てにぷり

Oh! AMAZING.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59575.00
ETH 2607.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43