A Mini Reunion: Going to Pinamungajan with Family

in #blog6 years ago


The Love of a FAMILY is Life's GREATEST Blessing!

first.jpg


I am someone who values family more than anyone or anything in the world. Of course, my family is not perfect, but I love them as they are. There are also instances in our family's life when misunderstandings occur, but I guess that's very normal. Let's not talk about it for now, instead, I want to share to everyone how happy I was to have a "Mini-reunion" with these special people.

WHY MINI-REUNION?



This mini-reunion we had yesterday was with some family members from my mother's side. Actually, my mom has 6 siblings and all have their own families except for my uncle who is the only guy. However, the ones who went on a trip yesterday were only my mom's family and two other siblings'.

Among all the siblings, my mom is closest to these two. They are her younger sisters and one of them lives in Pinamungajan, Cebu (countryside). We don't meet often since they transferred there, so this short trip is extra special.

Where is Pinamungajan?



DQmYW4yf1e4Gpuewxuf7rJ773hfa1NQAhXHyZtwFdXzgEB3.png



The photo above is a screenshot I took from Google. It shows the distance between Pinamungajan and Talisay City (the city where I live). My mom's other sibling lives in Lapu-Lapu City which is another hour from our place. We travelled by car, but for people who wants to commute, they can go there by bus or V-hire (Van for hire).

Let's Start the Trip!



second.jpg


While waiting for my aunt's family from Lapu Lapu City, my family and I took some selfie. Since my uncle is driving a car, my grandma and Arashi can also go with us. If we commute, it will be difficult for both grandma and Arashi to go.

We actually didn't have any prior plans. Earlier yesterday, my aunt suddenly called my mom that we're going to Pinamungajan to visit their other sister. Since we didn't have any plans to do that day, we agreed and got ready.

Let me share a video I made of the road trip. These are some video clips I took from the cityside, in the mountainous area, the beachside to Pinamungajan. I also used one of my favorite Japanese songs called "SUMMERTIME" by NEWS. I hope you enjoy the video. I'm not skillful enough when it comes to video editing, so please bear with this noob.




In the Car...



It was almost lunch time when my aunt's family arrived in our house, however, we decided to have lunch together in Pinamungajan with my other aunt's family. Of course, we were a bit hungry already so while in the car, we ate some chips, biscuits and roasted pig (lechon). lol

third.jpg


Since it was like an unplanned trip, we hurriedly bought some roasted pigs. Roasted pigs or lechon in my place (Talisay City) is one of the best! I pledged one kilo while my uncle pledged for another. One kilogram of lechon is about 500Php (10USD). In the picture above, you can see my aunt feeding my uncle some lechon while the lights are red. haha.. Aren't they sweet?


fourth.jpg


In my case, I was seated in the furthest back with my cousin/son Godwyn. He was busy sleeping until we arrived in the mountainous part of the road trip. I was, on the other hand, busy taking pictures and videos for this blog. They even joked at me by saying, "Ka-busy sa blogger! Share your blessings nya ha?" (Our blogger at the back is so busy, share your blessings with us!)

We Arrived Safely + Eating Time!!



APDC0046.JPG


We arrived safely in my other aunt's house in Pinamungajan. It was around 1pm that time, so everyone was a bit hungry. Only a bit, because we were eating along the way.. haha So, the girls (my mom, 2 aunts, me and my cousin Nicole) prepared the food.

fifth.jpg


We were super full! And since we were able to have a happy tummy, time to have a happy heart by spending time with everyone. We talked, took pictures, sang, and did a lot of stuff!

Happy Time



APDC0039.JPG

This was taken in the living room. They were busy talking and watching TV.

APDC0053.JPG

Godwyn is showing his "New Year's money" he received from grandma.

P_20180114_143728.jpg

Daddy Aldwin, Daddy Sidney and Papa @jhunalvarado. They are the three musketeers! lol... They are very close to each other. It's been a while since they were complete. Daddy Sidney used to work abroad while Daddy Aldwin is works in a ship and he arrived just last month. It's fun to see them together again.

P_20180114_143400.jpg

Father and son... I'm glad to see Godwyn reunited with his father. I think it's really difficult to be away from your family. That's why occasions like this is extra special.

After a while, the "fathers" went out to hang out together. They were granted "SP or Special Permit" from their wives. hahaha xD While they were away, the girl and the kids stayed at home. I don't have a lot of pictures with my aunts. They're both camera shy.. hahaha... I'll be sharing another video of our happy time, soon!

P_20180114_152257_HDR.jpg

It actually rained for a bit, but it gave us a much fresher and cooler air. Waaaa~ I wanna live in the countryside again!

P_20180114_154917.jpg

Aside from happy time, we also had study time! It's Godwyn's periodical test week this week. So aside from playing around, we also took sometime to study. I reviewed him for his exams. I know he'll do great! ^^

What's for Dinner?



When you're having fun, time flies by so fast! It's almost time for dinner so we had to prepare for it. We decided to leave going back to the city after dinner. Well, we still had some leftovers from lunch time, but the kids wanted to go to the market to buy additional viand and toys.. lol.

P_20180114_173542.jpg

Here are my cousins Nicole (15) and Godwyn (7). They haven't seen each other for quite some time. We were in the market and they were walking while holding each other's hand. Aww. So cute!!! My babies~!!!

P_20180114_182003.jpg

We bought "dried fish". It's so yummy! The smell isn't very good for most people especially foreigners but Filipinos love this food!

P_20180114_182135.jpg

The dinner table! We decided to eat in the balcony so the fresh air will add up to the flavor. hihihi~

Actually, when my uncles and father arrived, they were with another person. He is one of my uncle's relatives who happened to be an uncle of my high school best friend. It was so funny because after we prayed and give thanks for the food we received, I usually say "Itadakimasu".

ITADAKIMASU is a common Japanese word to say before eating. It's similar to saying (Let's eat or It's a feast!) Here's what happened. (Me = M; Uncle's Relative = UR)

M: Itadakimasu!
UR: Tabemashou!
M: (shocked but just smiled) Tabemashou!
UR: Nihonjin desu ka?
M: Nihonjin janai. Firipinjin desu!
UR: (smiling) Nihongo jouzo ne.
M: Arigatou kedo mada desu ne. Naze Nihongo shaberu no?
UR: Sannen, Nihon ni hatarakimashita.
M: Ahh, sou desu ka. Sugoi ne? Nihon ni ikitai na~
UR: Dekiru yo! Ganbatte ne.
M: Arigatou... Ganbarimasu!

Translation:
M: It's a feast!
UR: Let's eat!
M: (shocked but just smiled) Let's eat!
UR: Are you Japanese?
M: I'm not Japanese, I'm a Filipino.
UR: (smiling) Your Japanese is great!
M: Thank you but it's not enough. Why do you speak Japanese?
UR: I worked in Japan for three years.
M: Ahh, really? It's amazing! I wanna go to Japan.
UR: You can do it! Good luck!
M: Thank you. I'll do my best

Everyone was just listening to us and they were amazed at how we spoke an entire different language. Actually, daddy Sidney (Nicole's father) knows how to speak Japanese too. He has studied the language for six months years ago and he gave me his notes. It's one of the reasons why I was able to study Japanese as well.

Saying Goodbye



The hardest part of get togethers is the farewell part. We won't be seeing each other for who knows how long. However, the bond will remain. No matter what distance.



IMAGE SOURCE


I am indeed so lucky to have a family like them. I wouldn't be what I am now if not for their support. That's why, as much as possible, I'd like to do my best to give back. Even not for my aunts, parents, grandma or uncle, but for the generation younger than me.

Value your family! They are indeed life's greatest gift! ^^




Thanks a lot for dropping by!
それではまた~
Love lots, @tegoshei

Sort:  

I loved being a part of your happy reunion. You did a great job with the video and that was great music (don't know the words) but it was happy music with a fun beat. I was chair dancing. LOL! I would have loved to have been there during your conversation in Japanese; so much fun and I am so proud of you! I know about missing family since my small family and I do not live close by to each other. I sure do miss them! Thanks for making me feel like part of your family Shei! : )

Aww.. Deb... Aren't you the sweetest? hihihi ^^ Thank you so much.. If you happen to come in the Philippines, would gladly welcome you in our humble home.. hugs Thanks for the tip, too... ^^ Also, I hope you could spend time with your family, too.. :)

I know you would welcome me because that is just the kind of person you are (thank you) and I know I would fit right in. We would all have so much fun. But for now I will just have to armchair visit. : ) (((((Shei)))))

Beautiful scenery! and what a beautiful family you have! The music is perfect for it!

Thank you so much, sis!!! ^^ I hope you and your family can visit the Philippines someday! :)

@tegoshei thanks for sharing us your happy moment

you're welcome... ^^

i hold my family above everything too! what an amazing family you got there and also amazing photos, your country is completely different than mine! Also the grandma rocks! :p

hihihi.. ^^ Thank you so much... :) Yeah.. my grandma is awesome! haha

You have a lovely family ! Family are very important. Without them you would have nothing. Great happy pictures

That's very true! I really love my family... ^^ Thanks a lot :)

Wow, is this the place where the wave pool is at? I'm from Cebu City amd I haven't been tjere yet

Yes... that's in Lamac, Pinamungajan... My aunt's place is quite far from there though... ^^

these memories are sure unforgettable :)

Super true, brad! ^^ They'll be treasured forever... :)

I forgot this...Tip!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 63418.73
ETH 3094.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89