Tomorrow is M day

in #blog7 years ago

What is M day?

If you have been following my blog you know that M stands for Moving. Tomorrow is moving day. I am so excited to finally be moving into our new home. In a few weeks everything should be fixed that the first finish crew messed up. Hopefully the materials get in sooner rather than later. Cause I am ready to be done with the builder. But this post isn't about that, it is about finally moving tomorrow.


Image credit pixabay

I reserved a U-Haul truck yesterday

We will be picking it up at 9 A.M. We won't be completely moved out over the weekend as my husband's car is still in the shop and we need his car to haul the trailer and some other stuff we need to store till we get our garage built to a property and garage we partly own with his siblings. We are thankful we have that garage to use in the meantime. But all the stuff we need for the house will be going over tomorrow. And I can not wait.

I picked up my bed today

The headboard has to be replaced we took it out of the box and found a long crack from one end to the other. We called the furniture place we bought it from and they are having the headboard replaced. But I am really sad that it came broke like this. But I am happy the place is making it right. They said it will take a week for a replacement headboard to arrive. It is really noticeable on one end but not as much on the other, but still it is unacceptable. I am really glad we purchased it where we did I don't think it would have been as easy with another store.

20180216_173620.jpg

20180216_173626.jpg

20180216_173633.jpg

20180216_173722.jpg

We are still going to use it till the new headboard comes. Then we will exchange them out. So that is another plus but what a hassle.

With us moving tomorrow

We will likely eat out but I hope to cook in my new home Sunday. If I an get enough things settled I might even try to get my first cooking vlog recorded and posted to d.tube for the @cooking4charity blog. But don't count on it. As moving is a lot of work, but even if I can't get one out Sunday, I will have the series going with in a week. I am excited to share what I have learned about cooking with steemit.

Did I tell you we are moving tomorrow?

I know I did but I am really excited to finally be moving into our home. Over all even with all the delays we did this build quickly. We started all of this at the end of August last year, and less than 6 months later we are moving in. We have had our headaches, people breaking promises, or should I say making promises they should have know there was no way of keeping. Which gave me false expectations. But all in all even with all of that.

We took this empty lot

DSC_0002.JPG

And built this house on it

DSC_0011 (2).JPG

And tomorrow we get to move and in a few days say goodbye to renting forever then the hard work begins

We still have a ton of stuff to do on our property. We need to put up a fence right away for our dogs, build a garage, sod the lawn, build a green house, build me a photo studio (leaning toward converting an Amish Barn into a photo studio) and if I am able to get the variance needed build a chicken coop and get some chickens. And that is just a few of the projects. We also still have all this underbrush and overgrowth to clear out of our woods. There is a lot of work there as we have about 1/4 of an acre of woods on our lot.

untitled.png

DSC_0036.JPG

Sort:  

Woooohooooooo!!!! I am excited for you.

I can't wait to sleep there. I am hoping we are sleeping there tomorrow night... If everything goes as planned we will anyways

heck yeah! You still needing me at the beginning of the week?

Yes but it is looking like Tuesday. I may not have a car to use on Monday, but if I do, Monday.....

I’m glad to hear that you have your own house as I myself prefer owning my own properties than renting. It seems like a good place, the woods will make a perfect firewood. Happy M day.

Us too, we only became renters again when we relocated to a new town. My husband and I both think it is kind of dumb to buy a house in a new town and you don't know much about the neighborhoods. We decided to rent for a few years so we know where the good and bad areas are at. That way we wouldn't be stuck in a bad area.

Great idea!!! That's what I'm doing as well. I know my hometown really well but haven't had the chance to know where the best place to build for me is -- and I don't have the money for buying land and building on it at this time anyway. I know that I want to build in an area that isn't hot property and which doesn't have a lot of intrusive building code requirements, as I want to design just what I need without worrying about unnecessary nanny laws. I'm thinking of an area that's just north of North Anderson that is along the CATS route out there.

That is great news. It will be a tiring day tomorrow but the reward is fantastic of course! Your own house! I wish you many happy years in your new home.

Tomorrow is now today as I posted this last night.

Good luck. That's a great news, moving your own house must be so exciting. I wish you have a many happy times there. Followed, upvoted by @motherearthist

You got a 1.04% upvote from @buildawhale courtesy of @tecnosgirl!
If you believe this post is spam or abuse, please report it to our Discord #abuse channel.

If you want to support our Curation Digest or our Spam & Abuse prevention efforts, please vote @themarkymark as witness.

It's so exciting to have all of those projects going on!!! This will simultaneously be keeping you very busy but, also, well-rested just from that feeling of accomplishment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62924.41
ETH 2436.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52