Preparing for my sons Open House

in #blog6 years ago

Next month my baby boy graduates high school

It really does go by very quickly. One day you have a tiny baby. Then it seems like you blink and that tiny baby is all grown up walking across the stage accepting their high school diploma.

Screenshot_2018-04-13-19-59-20-1.png

In just 5 weeks he graduates

It doesn't seem possible that 18 years have already flown by. I look at my little boy and in my minds eye I still see that little boy who brought more that I could ever image into my world. He has taught me so many things being his mom. I love this kid so freaking much.

Screenshot_2018-04-13-19-58-47-1.png

@ultrawing my only son is no longer a boy really

He has grown into a young man right before my eyes. Next month he will being a new journey in his life as he will begin the next stages of his life. I look forward to seeing where he will go in life. I am a little sad this part of my journey as a mom is coming to an end with my baby graduating. But I am also looking forward to it at the same time. As I know I have been raising a fine young man.

Screenshot_2018-04-13-19-59-44-1.png

I booked a location for his open house

We were going to have it here at the new house. But with the prolong winter new grass growth has been slow. We are not sure our yards wouldn't be a mud pit. So we decided to rent a cabin at a local park.

He wants a nacho bar for the food and we are gonna do a candy bar with corny puns. @ultrawing likes corny puns so I thought doing a candy bar and putting labels on glass jars labeling them other things. Like Ring Pops "Class Rings" Smartees "Smarty Pants"
Something like this but customized to candy he likes.

Screenshot_2018-04-13-20-19-42.png

I even got some cool jars for the candy bar

Love my shop your way reward points. The games have saves me a ton of money and I gota bunch of these Jars for the Candy Bar for free using the points I won. I get all kinds of thi gs for free using points but making graduations extra special with small touches for free makes me one happy mom.

1523665399588783739083.jpg

When it is all over I am going to focus on discovering my new dreams.

Soon I am going to be focusing more of me and following my own dreams for the next stage of my life. Do I fully know what those are yet? Nope. And I don't need to know what they are all yet. All I have to do is be willing to try new things and embrace those things I enjoy and find I have passion for. But I do know one thing no matter what I end up doing I will always be mom and be there for all three of children.

DQmVBgJr2k8xdeRdwfkLng3adEkfZpLTnXs2eon5v6tAAN5_1680x8400.png

Sort:  

It's hard to believe really, it seems only a few years ago we were driving cross country in the omni (wasnt that the car lol) what an adventure we went on!!! Now you are officially a grown up! Oh, and you too @ultrawing, lol, love you guys! edit accidentally upvoted my own comment so not used to a cell phone lol

Yep. My purse was stolen on that trip....

One day that mystery will unfold

It already did. It was for my identity. The IRS put a lean on my accounts because of it. Thankfully because I was working on a military base at the time of the "fraud" I was able to prove it was a case of stolen identity and not me creating fraud. And they released the lean. But it was scary as fuck to get that letter and have my accounts frozen.

I remember thou going through that. It would be awesome to drive through again and find it lol i know that's not possible but hey it'd still be cool!

I know exactly how you feel because I experienced the same feelings when my children graduated and then started to choose their own path. I can tell you that there is one thing that has surpassed that feeling and that is when your child has a child of his own. That is so beautiful, but also weird. Your baby gets a baby, there are no words to describe those feelings.

My oldest has given me two of those so far. Being a grandma is awesome. As much as I love being a mom I love being Grandma even more.

Omg he’s so handsome! His posts are v interesting also :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63398.53
ETH 2660.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77