My baby girl has gotten her first job in a lab

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

My youngest daughter @truthtalks is a chemistry major at Purdue University

She has been holding off for a lab job to help her in her career goals. She has always been a hard worker but during high school we only allowed her to work for family in the antique business or the rental business for either us (before we sold our rentals) or her grandma. She bought her first car herself with money earned working for family.

Lab jobs on campus are hard to get

She has been activitely looking for a lab job for months. When she called me telling me she might need her birth certificate and social security card for it and I made plans to take it to her she had no idea they had already narrowed it down to her. But first thing this morning she was asked to come do the paperwork at 3 pm. I was due there about 2 pm. Talk about cutting it close.

I also finally got to see my daughter new apartment

Last time I visited the campus she was still living in the dorms. Upper classman was offered off campus housing for what dorm living cost because of a housing shortage. So she has a little more privacy and a full kitchen to cook in. Her place is much nicer than my first place. She also shares the place with 4 room mates.
20180620_154256.jpg

I am so proud of her hard work and determination

She works really hard and she is very determined. This lab job only last for the summer but is going to give her much needed experience for the next lab job if she can not extend it to a work study program those positions get filled on who has been there the longest. If they don't want it they move down the line.

DQmVBgJr2k8xdeRdwfkLng3adEkfZpLTnXs2eon5v6tAAN5_1680x8400.png

Sort:  

Congrats to her!! :) I'm sure it's nice seeing a kid having success in their life!

yes it is, specially when out of all my children she has had so much heartbreak and loss. She first loss her dad when he was murdered when she was just 18 months old, then his dad passed away a few years later and a few months after her uncle, her dad's brother passed, then she lost her grandma on that side of the family. She was extremely close to them all. It has been rough but it is almost like she is determined to make sure those watching over her is proud af with what she is doing with her life.

I'm sad that she experienced a lot of loss early on in life but I am happy that she makes her family proud 😊

Congratulations frind, practical life of your chikd starts, new phase of life

Wow! It is a nice place. It's a beautifully built house and I love the color. 😀

It is a whole lot nicer than my first place that is for sure. She is only at that location for the summer then she is moving into another unit in the same complex. It is also nicer than the house I just had built. But I also like to eat and not be house poor.

You sound happy w/the house you built.

Overall but the builder still needs to fix some stuff.

I'm happy to hear that you are satisfied with your purchase. Hopefully they'll get to fixing the things that need fixed soon enough!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63878.47
ETH 2625.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79