Happy New 2018 - My Last Steemit Post for 2017

in #blog7 years ago

In Israel we celebrate the new year traditionally according to the lunar calendar. Our new year celebration is sometime in September-October rather than the night between December 31st and January 1st. So instead of having one annual summary and one time for new year resolutions, we kinda get two "new years" a year.

I am not big on summaries or resolutions. In fact, I prefer to make resolutions when I wish to give myself a goal, and not at any traditionally pre-defined time. But I guess today is as good a day as any to consider my past, present and future on the Steemit platform.

Looking Back

Since my return to Steemit about 2 months back, I've seen the good and the bad this platform has to offer. Sure, there are spammers, scammers, douche-whales and vote-beggars aplenty. Too many people prioritize money over the discovery and promotion of quality content. The system as it is now doesn't consider greed in its design, which is why it is the greedy that eat most of the cake. 

So why do I sit here and write, if the game is rigged against me? Because to me, it's less about the money and more about the opportunities and people. Rejoining Steemit in 2017 led me to some interesting places. I joined the @buildteam to help with content and marketing. I've made dozens of new friends and help establish an Israeli community on the platform, promoting cooperation and collaboration between the growing number of members. True, this all happened in the last two months, but it was still 2017. Which ends today.

Dreaming Forward

Will I be writing a similar post in 365 days from now? Will I still be here? Will Steemit? I don't know, but I hope so. In 2018 I plan to work with @utopian-io , grow the Israeli community and continue to support communities and new users who bring unique content to the platform. Among others, I dream of a 100% Hebrew interface for Steemit / Busy.org , at least 2 Israeli witnesses and a lot more.

Perhaps this will be the year I will make my living off Steemit and related projects. Perhaps other opportunities will drag me away. But one thing I know for certain - the people I've met here and the things I've learned are just some of the positive things I take with me from 2017 to 2018.

I wish you a Happy New 2018! Steem on!

Sort:  

Ilana, our mother!
thank you for being who you are for our community - a friend forced me to open an account 4 months ago but I did nothing with it until I noticed there is an Israeli community and after getting the help and a boost of motivation from you and all our other dear members.
Have a great new year and may all of your dreams come true - I'm gonna learn some physiology now but wanted to say thank you.

@techslut no need to get pregnant, you're apparently already a mother!

It's not the first time she is called so in our community 😂😂😂

I've adopted a school of minnows. :P

I don't know about you, but if she is my mother, She had me when she was 12.
I guess I'm adopted then.

That's biologically possible but I rather not think of it cause it makes me feel awkward. :)

:blushes:
Thank you! It's a pleasure and a privilege to be part of this awesome community. We need to organize that meetup soon.

Happy 3rd month of the hebrew year :P

I wish this will be a fruitful year!! :)

Well, 2017 was pretty amazing, so 2018 has its work cut out for it to try and be even more amazing. I wish it luck! :)

Happy 2nd new year!

My resolution is to graduate from vote-beggar to douche-whale 😈

LOL

Good resolution! I support it! :)

Great reply! It have me a laugh 😂

Great, mission accomplished and a happy new year to you!

Dear, Ilana @techslut

I don't have enough words to thank you and describe what I feel.
I grateful for your kindness, loyalty, and commitment to all of us
For your understanding and loving attitude.
The softness, the giving, the sharing,
The thanks for investing countless hours,
When your goal is one: give and help.
Thank you for being so kind and caring
A person who knows how to help, and in any situation to support,
There's no one like you on earth.

I Wish you a Happy New Year With the hope that you will have many blessings in the year to come

Okay, there's something in my eye now...

Thank you for the kind words! And here's to an awesome year of success!

Let's see if a year from now I'll thank you or curse you for indirectly dragging me here :P

May the next year be better than the last. It shouldn't be hard. But we can also get even worse, so let's hope not, heh.

Oh, by the by, the Israeli calendar is a mix of lunar and solar. An example of a fully lunar calendar is the muslim one, and had our calendar been like that, Rosh Ha'Shana would even be in July or March some years.

Ugh. Shit is confusing!!!! We're like the British in that aspect - we just have to be different. :sigh:

Hey! We were first. This time, it's not our fault :P

I hope you'll write a similar post in 365 days, and I hope I'll be here to read it.
Good luck with @buildteam, good luck on working with @utopian-io and of course - Good luck with the Israeli Steemit community.

I see great things happening on Steemit in the next few months.

I wish you the best 2018 you could've ever imagine!

You managed to do plenty in only two months, it's amazing! You are definitely a great contribution to the platform and to the Israeli community, Thank you!

Bless you my dear ! without your effort I don't think things could be the same in our group. You are really kind and helpful..:-)

Thank you so much! <3

Also, I expect gratitude in the form of cuscus at the local steem meetup I will organize. That recipe you posted gave me a craving. :)

With pleasure, let me know when you come to the south like to Ashkelon you will meet other steemians from the family like my daughter Inbar and Asaf who you know already and Yael...

Oh wow. I have family down there but don't often visit. Also, promised to visit other steemians up north first. :)

Happy New Year to you my newfound Steemit friend ;) I wish you many blessing in the days and months to come <3

תאמיני לי, שב2018 כנראה יהיו לפחות 4 עדים ישראלים ;)

הולי שיט אתה ישראלי? בוא בוא לפייסוש. דבר איתי שם נזמום מזימות השתלטות על העולם

תגיד מי ?
שנסמן אותם...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58802.33
ETH 3158.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42