Gloomy Friday

in #blog6 years ago

The feeling of losing anyone or something that is important to us is indescribable.
In this post, I would like to share another story of mine to all steemians. Note : the pictures used here are all the representation only.

dog-2985228.jpg
The story started with one Friday 8 years ago when my family decided to own a dog, Lucky, straight after my house was broken into by burglars. Here in Cambodia back then, dogs were viewed as loyal pets that can help looking after the house especially at night thanks to their strong sense of hearing and looking. It was believed that owning a dog meant prevent strangers from entering the house without the awareness of the owner. Lucky was sent from a relative of mine, and she was only around 1 month old.

My Feeling towards her

Ugly, smelly, annoying, burden were the only adjectives I could use to describe Lucky as I didn’t like dogs at all and I personally thought dogs are dangerous pets. However, things changed as time went by, and so did my feeling towards her. I started to get to know here more and more everyday by feeding her, and play around with her. More importantly, I was always welcomed by her once I arrived from school. She waved her tail non-stop and jumped to me whenever she saw me. I observed her reaction from day to day and finally knew that she was so loyal and honest, and flexible. ( Don’t know if I use the correct word). She dared not to play unless I was happy and wanted to. Lucky made me change my perspectives towards dogs completely. Having Lucky, I purposely developed another routine which I had to make time for her including feeding, playing, and walking her to the park. The routine itself gradually built stronger attachment between her and I. To simply put, Lucky was a best friend of mine.

DogRunning.jpg

Private protection

I had to admit that the security system in the city back then was not really reliable, meaning that it was not really safe especially at night that we definitely needed to find our own protection. As mentioned, my house was robbed successfully once, so there was tendency that it would happen again. As anticipated, it did happen, but just not successful this time due to Lucky.
It was 2 o’clock at night, the time that burglar usually took actions. Everyone was asleep and suddenly awoke because of the constant barking sounds of Lucky. Wolf wolf wolf wolf………….for quite a while and everyone in the house went down stair to check why Lucky barked. Surprisingly, we saw a man who was just about to climbed through the wall and enter the home. Burglar… burglar….. burglar, we shouted. Then that man decided to turn back and ran. After that incident, we thought, without Lucky, we would have suffered from the robbery again. What was more, it was not the first time Lucky stopped them from robbing, but the 7th time if I am not mistaken.

Escaping Strategy

It was a beautiful morning actually. Everyone in the home got up with fresh mind, but still we felt just like something was missing. For a second thought, we didn’t see Lucky coming to greet us as she normally did. We tried to find everywhere around the house and our neighborhood, but did not see Lucky. Where did she go? Hmmmmmmmm… I was emotionally sad and unhappy as 2 days had passed and didn’t hear anything from her. Generally, only one thing we can assume when the missing pet had gone for more than 24 hours. It was “Death”. We all believed Lucky has already died and for some reasons Lucky might have been cooked as well for dog meat was very popular and it was not uncommon to miss dogs from all family in general. We all were sad and unhappy. However, the third day brought our smile back when Lucky eventually came back home. The bad news was she came home safely, but not healthily. She got bruises around her body and was shaking like a leaf, looking like she was so frightened. Our assumption was Lucky must have been caught, and tried to escape successfully. Despite all of these, we were so happy at last.

The Final Ending

It was Friday when Lucky died. Hmmmmmmmm….It was a few months after she came back. This time she was not caught, but poison to death. Why were people so cruel? Didn’t they have any affection to pets? The moment everyone got up and came down to ground floor, we saw Lucky lying with her last breath already. It was too late. Really too late to save her. We were watching her in tears and pain. How come people had no sympathy? What had she done wrong? I truly wish she would be born better in her next life. I love you Lucky and I miss you. Friday was the day you came and also the day you left us.
Dogs are our most loyal and honest friends. Please do not harm them.
bf1ebf62-dogcover.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94