My Moving Tips and Tricks!

in #blog7 years ago

Hello everyone, and welcome back to my daily life blog, where I share my experiences and thoughts. This time I am writing about the current preoccupation in my life - we are moving to another apartment!
It's not the first move for me, and I pretty much have it all worked out so that the stress levels could be kept in control (because for me moving is stressful).

Messy-pile-of-boxes-on-top-of-a-person.jpg
Source

So, I'm here to share a few tips I had to learn the hard way, and maybe it will be useful to some of you.
Let's start:

1. DON'T BUY BOXES:
The best way to pack is in boxes, but if you haven't saved them from the last move (and you should in the future), then ask local stores or people who recently moved to give you some boxes. Don't spend money on new ones (you will need it for other stuff).
Bonus tip: You can make two holes with scissors to carry the boxes more easily.

2. LABEL EVERYTHING:
This one is very important, since you will have a ton of stuff to carry, and boxes get mixed up. Try to write what is in the box, make a precise list, it will help you a lot when you unpack.

moving_boxes.jpg
Source

3. MAKE A FIRST DAY/NIGHT BOX:
When you do move everything in the new apartment, you won't be able to find anything when you need it. So, it's more efficient to make one box for that first night or day. Pack your toothbrushes and toothpaste, two towels, underwear, soap, sheets, charger or whatever you need to make it through that first night.

4. USE YOUR TOWELS TO PACK FRAGILE ITEMS:
Your plates, glasses, arts and anything that can brake should be packed with special care. But why would you wrap it in news paper or bubble wrap, just use your towels (that you are going to pack any way) between fragile items, to protect them.

5. TAKE CARE OF PETS:
If you have a pet (like we do), be sure to bring it's water bowl and some food, at least one toy and put it in the "first day box". That way, your little companion will be taken care of while you unpack.

pexels-photo-97863.jpeg
Source

6. PURGE:
Before you even start packing, you should throw away everything you don't need. Think minimalist thoughts, and pack the things you really use, everything else you can give away or throw away.

7. CHANGE YOUR ADDRESS:
Your home address for bank, shipping and other services should be changed in advance, so non of your mail and packages get lost.

There are so many things that can help you move easier, and if you know some other tip be sure to leave me a comment, it could help me avoid mental breakdown :)

With love,
Tamara

Sort:  

OK, I admit, this one hit close to home. I have to move frequently and is one of the most hated aspects of my life.

My mother had to do it, once, too, not so long ago actually, and I can still remember, how important labeling was - as well as purge: we barely had any place, yet so much stuff to bring.

Thanks for the article, it was interesting and useful!

Thank you for stopping by and supporting!

Добри савети @tamacvet, лепо би било видети их и на српском. Глас и рестим.

Da, razmislicu o tome da napisem i neki blog na srpskom, za sada je engleski bio laksi nacin da dodjem do vise ljudi :) Hvala na podrsci, bice uzvracena :)

Number 6 is a tricky one! @tamacvet, This is VERY welcome indeed!! :D
Thanks a lot & good luck to us !
:)

I was thinking of you and our conversation while writing :)
Number 6. is a must, trust me. It will make your life so much easier!

I wish to move out someday. Thank you for your advice.

Great tips!
I haven't moved yet but I think I would do it the same way you shared in this post. :)

You can choose any number of reputable moving service providers based out at your local area. The question is do you want to take a chance or call on the best moving services for home or office. Then you have to choose cheap apartment moving services the bronx. This is one of the best moving companies.

Labeling everything is definitely a must-do, too. I've made the mistake of not labeling boxes before, and let me tell you, it was a nightmare trying to figure out what was where when I was unpacking.

Thanks for sharing your moving tips and tricks, tamacvet! Moving can be such a hassle, but with your advice, it sounds like it can be a bit more manageable.
First of all, I totally agree with you on not buying boxes! That's just a waste of money, especially when you can ask around for free boxes. And the tip about making holes in the boxes for easier carrying? Genius! You're saving both money and energy, my friend.
And speaking of moving, have you heard of threemovers.com? They're a long-distance moving company that can help make your move a bit smoother. They offer packing services, loading and unloading, and even storage options.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71297.37
ETH 3698.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75