My Honest "Review" of Pregnancy - Third Trimester

in #blog5 years ago

Hi Steemians, it's me, your long lost cyber friend!

My pregnancy journey is over and I entered a far more interesting and demanding part of my life - parenthood. But before I start writing about that I wanted to end my "review" series and talk about my third trimester (aka months seven, eight and nine), how I felt, what happened etc.

I talked about my pregnancy in two other blogs already and I always read them before I write another one, confirming that you really do forget it all. Some things I had to take notes on, just for the sake of this blog.

pexels-photo-132730.jpeg

Source

It's been over two months since I delivered a baby boy to this world, and it's time to talk about this final chapter. Let's see what was going on.

Food

The weird thing from my second trimester regarding food continued through my third trimester too. When I saw something (especially on TV ) I had to have it. Apples were a big craving of mine too.
One thing worth mentioning was that I lacked proteins (you have frequent blood check-ups in pregnancy) and I had to eat high-protein food to manage it better. So eggs, milk, mushrooms, cheese and lean meat were my go to food. Proteins are VERY important in pregnancy, for brain development of the baby and his weight. Since I had low proteins through out my pregnancy, my baby boy was born pretty small (3,1 kg) considering that I am a fairly tall woman.

bread-delicious-egg-704569.jpg

Body

Well, the baby bump did finally show in the third trimester. I didn't have any stretch marks but to be honest I did use a ton of moisturizers on my belly. I did how ever form linea nigra, that weird black line across your belly.

0-02-05-6f11ed550b6e6d01d85b7717e316d8946da31c4749baeec10064b55013113296_aae9ed31.jpg

I mostly felt bloated and unable to put on my shoes or shave my legs. I also felt a bit tired by the end of it and I had to take cat-naps all day long, mostly because I had to get up and pee for at least 5 times during the night. Baby was already preparing me for rough nights :)

Mind

Interesting thing about this trimester and your brain is that you are beginning to freak out about many things. First, there is the dread of delivery, fear of the baby handling, breastfeeding, colic, night-feedings, parenting in general. But for some reason you begin to "nest" like a crazy woman. I deep-cleaned our entire apartment (three times), rearranged furniture, washed clothes and made his bed a few times.

It's a lot like birds making their nest for the eggs and the young ones, we do it also, but with our home. Suddenly, everything had to be perfectly organized and cleaned (it usually is with me, but this was far more extreme).

Plus sides of this trimester

  • You will see facial expression when you visit your OBGYN
  • You will be able to recognize body parts when your baby kicks (elbow, but, hand or heel)
  • Your home will be spotless
  • Others will pamper you more (including helping you to put on your shoes)

A big disclaimer: This was my own experience, not a bad one but honest one! I would have preferred that someone said those things to me so that I wouldn't feel almost guilty for not enjoying my pregnancy more.

With love,
Tamara

Sort:  

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 24 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 4 SBD worth and should receive 126 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59013.49
ETH 2516.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48