Happy Opening Day!

in #blog6 years ago

I grew up in St. Louis, Missouri. Being a kid in St. Louis, means you are usually enamored by three things: The hottest toy, The St Louis Arch, and Cardinals baseball.

Baseball has always been in my blood. I loved the days my dad would tell me to grab my glove and jump in the car, as I knew I was going to the stadium to sit and watch some men play the sport that I love so much. At that time, Busch Stadium had a bleacher section where tickets didn't go on sale until 1.5 hours before game-time. $4 and you were in like flint.

Lou Brock was my first favorite, followed by Ozzie, Tudor, Lankford, Pujols, Edmunds, Carpenter, Yadi, etc.

I loved going to the park and seeing these guys and knowing that each year, there was a chance to win the big one.


But times change, I have since moved to Austin, Texas, where football reigns and very few people care about the sport I love. The memories remain, and even at 45 years old, I still feel like a kid, full of wonder, awe, and anticipation of the upcoming season.

Thankfully I can stream every game now with MLB's baseball package, much to the chagrin of @isaria (She grew up in NY, as a casual Mets fan so, she didn't "get" baseball)

And while I have to work today when the first game of the season starts, I'll be able to catch some of it through streaming radio.

But it's opening day, and while I may be 800+ miles away from my favorite team, I can still watch them and feel that all is right in the world for a few hours.

Sort:  

nice sports bro bro @swelker101

I grew up in STL too. Miss going to these games! 😭

I haven't been to an MLB game since I was a kid.

One of things I want to do this year is attend a Brewers game. I need to check their schedule and see when they come to FL.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57774.35
ETH 2339.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44