Together we will sustain; short introduction.

in #blog7 years ago

Dear Steemians,

This is my first post here on STEEM, but my #introduceyourself will follow later.

What I can already tell is why I choose my name @SustaiNancy , just because I would like to post about sustainability in all kind of ways; and because my given name is Nancy. (@firepower was interested in this as well)

The posts won't be that "heavy"; but fun and interesting to read.

What is sustainability in general?

Sustainability has become a container concept the last years. Everything that has to do with socially responsible living, the environment, ecology and future-oriented thinking is now under durability.

Often the term sustainability is described on the basis of a theory: the three P's. (People/Profit/Planet)

Besides the fact that we want to earn money and enjoy the prosperity, it is also our job to take good care of people and the environment. After all, we have to be here together for a long time :-)

We now have the responsibility for the future generations that will come. Think about all fossil fuels, global warming, and food problems.


pic: greencarrier.com

Definition

What exactly does the term sustainability mean? The following definition is formulated by the World Commission on Environment and Development of the United Nations in the report "Our Common Future":

"Sustainable development is the development that meets the needs of the present without compromising the ability of future generations to meet their own needs"

In short, we look at the current needs of people on earth and how this can be developed in the future without endangering people, the environment or the economy.

I think this is a good introduction about the topics where I will post about, see you in my next post under #food

Sort:  

Wow, this could be interesting! And Yes, we have to take care for our planet, children and everything what lives here on earth.

Welcome to Steemit! You seem to have a good niche!

I hope to be able to bring something extra to the community. I think many people find it an important topic and I will try to let this grow further.

Welcome to Steemit! Looking forward to your posts. I also try to stick to products and practices that are good for me and the environment so I'm excited to see what ideas you have.

Hello Nancy!
Great post about sustainability, which concerns us all! Looking forward to your introduceyourself-post (well this has already been one).
I wish you lots of fun and success in our great Steemit-family as well as all the best for 2018! :)

That's a great introduction, congratulations :) I'm glad you are here and the topic you are gonna be posting about is very interesting and useful. Go girl, let's rock Steemit :)

Welcome home @sustainancy ! :) May it be a fruitful time for you here on steemit! :)

Thank you, I like it already!

please consider joining Discord chat for steemit. there are a lot of people working on sustainability..

PAL-minnowsupport invite

Hi @sustainancy great to have you here. I am promoting, curating and rewarding authors who write about this. Authors who create great content will be curated in the daily post so that their work can be shared more. Please try and use the tag #livesustainably. It is still a new tag, but with authors like you onboard we can promote and reward those who are focused on the sustainability of our existence.

Thank you for your warm welcome. In my second post I already used #livesustainably.

Brilliant, thank you! I can't wait to read it - shortly. First replying to comments, then comes the reading with the morning coffee!

hey Nancy, success on Steemit!

Hi Nancy, welcome on Steemit. Have fun and keep on steeming..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62572.49
ETH 2444.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67