You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Opinions - Going fast to slow down time

in #blog6 years ago

Awesome post batz, couldn’t agree more with you :) it’s amazing and the level of focus is what slows everything down I think.

The last track day I did was at donnington Park in England, and I had a pretty big crash at the 1st corner, Redgate. This is about a 100-110kph corner and I remember every second of the crash, from the extra squeeze on the throttle at too much lean, the bike sliding out from underneath me... sliding into the gravel and feeling like I wasn’t going to stop sliding... I remember it feeling like falling off of skis if your doing down a really steep run and just can’t stop yourself from sliding. Then sitting back up and seeing the bike topple and smash over one last time. In reality this was probably about 3-4 seconds! But I remember it as a big chunk. It’s crazy isn’t it :)

Sort:  

Yeah, I think that we have such a high level of focus that everything becomes visible within our sphere of vision!...

Once you learn to understand crashes, you tend to not blank out when you crash. This used to happen to me a lot before, but now I know exactly where and why I crashed. And yeah, from the feeling of the front wiping away from under you, to the leg going off the peg, to the sliding on the tarmac, it is all very much in slow motion!

I hope you walked away from that crash unhurt! Which bike were you riding? Must have been a pity to see the bike wreck itself like that!

Yep exactly, time really does slow down. Which is a good think because as you said, you can then look at every aspect of why and how you crashed, and know exactly (most of the time) what mistake was made and how to not let it happen again.

Yep I was pretty much completely fine! Stood up right away... felt a bit sore the next day, and was a bit bruised. But I had good gear on and a back protector so it all helped :) it was a cbr600rr... :/ that’s what hurt the most!

Better sore than injured! CBR600RR? Ouch, must have been hard to see the bike wreck itself. How much did you end up putting down to fix it again?

Luckily for me, it was at a race school I had paid for, so part of my insurance I paid for covered bike damage... still, it hurt seeing a cbr600rr flipping over like that...

Good that your insurance covered for it, else would have been a hole in the pocket to fix it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59715.05
ETH 3186.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42