ROUND AND ROUND WE GO

in #blog6 years ago

Driving around the city lately, I happen upon more and more of these things called roundabouts. My question is why?

What's wrong with driving in a straight line? Why are neighborhood streets being reconstructed to include these things?

My first encounter with a roundabout was in Alexandria, Louisiana years ago. At that time, I thought, "must be something a drunken engineer dreamed up". I had never experienced one until then and didn't have a clue how to navigate this unfamiliar road!


Source

Consequently, I kept going round and round until I figured out how to jump off this merry-go-round! After a few more trips to Alexandria, the driving rules became clearer.

According to the Department of Transportation, roundabouts are safer than traditional stop sign or signal-controlled intersections.

Studies have shown roundabouts can increase traffic capacity by 30 percent to 50 percent compared to traditional intersections.

Research also indicates less idling, in turn, reduces vehicle emissions and fuel consumption.

Roundabouts have been in Europe for centuries but are gaining popularity in the USA slowly, but surely. So, if we must deal with these new additions, we should all learn the rules.

ALWAYS yield and wait for a break in traffic before entering the circle.

ALWAYS look to your left. Cars inside the roundabout have the right-of-way.

ALWAYS use your signals when exiting the roundabout.

Avoid changing lanes while in the roundabout if there are two lanes.

Only stop to avoid a collision with another vehicle.


Source

Like it or not roundabouts appear to be here to stay. Even though they can be tricky at first, we might find they are much better than sitting and waiting at traffic lights and stop signs.

Remember,

Keep on the Sunnyside!

Photo. # 1. Source

Sort:  

I remember the first one I got on was in Borger, Texas and my first thoughts were this is the craziest crap I ever saw! That was a lifetime ago.

I know right? I thought the same thing about the one Alexandria, La. My experience with that one was probably 30 years ago! Anyway, thanks for reading!

I know of one in Merida Mexico that is offically 3 lanes wide. With Mexican driving, it's usually 4 lanes wide and sometimes 5. When my wife is with me, I won't let her talk to me while I am in that mess. It's hard for her, you should here here let loose when she get's to the point she can talk again. All that saved up conversation comes out! "Did you see this? Did you see that?" It's almost as dangerous as the roundabout.

Wow.....sounds dangerous, remind me not to get on that one!

Ha! I ride around that one in Alexandria often! I've started seeing them in Lafayette too! Louisiana must have been on the leading edge of transportation that one has been around for as long as I can remember!

I would say so, but they are popping up all over Little Rock now!! Thanks for reading!

You have been resteemed by @resteemy, courtesy of @sunnieside!
Want to increase your following? Read more about me here

Yep, very popular here, too

I worry about people who take a highway exit to find themselves at a roundabout for the first time!

Had the pleasure of navigating my sister through our 4, double lane roundsbouts in a row. It was scary and laughable.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66436.09
ETH 3439.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65