Daily Dose of Sultnpapper 01/02/18> Did you make a list of New Year’s Resolutions?... Throw it away now.

in #blog7 years ago

It will sure be good to get back to work today at my normal occupation. I’ve been off now for a couple weeks for the holidays and I have to tell you my fingers and my upVoting power are both pretty well worn out from engaging on this platform and over at Sola. My voting power is so worn down it will take 30 hours to get it back to 100% if I don’t vote another post between now and then, and I will. So, if you see me laying off the upVote clicker you know why.

One other thing, did you know that Sola has more registered users than steemit.com ? I didn’t realize it until today, there are over 770,000 folks on that platform, mainly using it like a snap chat site for posting pictures and one liner things, meme I think is what they are called. If you venture over there to check it out please use the link at the bottom of this post and I’ll get a little bounty for bringing you over there.

So here we are, brand new year staring us in the face, will this be the “year” or will it be the same old crap just with a different number to designate it from all the other years in the past? It definitely has the potential to be the “year” but potential has to be acted upon. Are you ready to act or are you just going to watch like all the other past years and just make a comment here and there along the way?

Did you happen to save your new year’s resolution list from 2017? Do you even know where the thing is? It really doesn’t matter in the grand scheme of things anyway. New Year’s resolutions are over rated to begin with and are a lie as well when you really look at the word “resolution”.

Re- as a prefix means to do it again. Solution means the answer to the problem. So, if you already have solved the problem then why in the hell or you having to go back and solve it again? You never had a solution in the first place, if you had, you wouldn’t be looking at solving the problem again. Could it be you actually did have the solution or potential solution but just never acted on it?

I don’t make New Year’s resolutions, they aren’t needed, and I will tell you why. When you don’t end up succeeding at whatever you have decided to place on the New Year’s resolution list you are going to feel like you have failed. Do you really want to set yourself up for failure? Even if no else knows your list exists, you do, and you will feel like you have failed. Yes, failure in life happens, but there is no need in increasing the odds of failure, making the list will increase the odds of your failure.

There is something you can do and it doesn’t need to be written down on paper, a simple seven word question that you just need to ask yourself. “Is this the best I can do?” well is it? If it is not then you need to do again and do it better. If you just learn to ask yourself that question and give it an honest answer things will change for the better in your life. When you can answer yes to that question move on, you can’t do better than your best, others might be able to do better, but they aren’t you and they don’t walk in your boots.

Some things may not be able to be resolved in a year, but as long as you are making progress you are succeeding. With a list that is dated for a particular year it would seem like failure if you didn’t get the item completed and checked off the list.

The good part about using the question is that you can apply that question to anything that you do in life. If you are doing something the question can apply. Even if you aren’t doing something it can apply, is doing nothing the best you can do? I don’t believe so and neither does you, so take my advice. Throw your damn list away, start doing something and then apply the question and give it an honest answer. You will feel a whole lot better when 2019 rolls around.

Make that question a part of your daily routine and experience the positive results that will come from it.
Until next time,
@sultnpapper

https://steemfollower.com/?r=7580
https://sola.ai/sultnpapper

Sort:  

Ok so in a way you might be right but at the same time there is a part to it you don’t understand..people make resolutions because it gives them hope in this fkd up world..not because they set themselves for failure..through resolutions at the beginning of a new year you get a sense of starting fresh and you hope it will be better than the last one..I personally don’t make a list I just hope it will be better and create some kind of skeleton of ideas of what I wish to accomplish. Whether I succeed or not, I know I have some kind of hope in mind, a resolution or maybe two..this year I want to get in shape, because maybe, just maybe that will make me feel better about myself..I have other plans in mind, but I don’t consider them now, it will be to far fetched..So bottom line is this Hope makes us set new goals, for the future, for the next year, in the form of resolutions and without hope nothing was ever achieved! Absolutely nothing! Even if you set yourself for failure by doing that ( this is the part where you might be right ) think about the stupid optimism you feel at the moment of hope..somehow you get a boost even if afterward you might not succeed..just for that boost alone for that single moment of trust and encouragement you give yourself through resolutions it is worth it to hope! You might not see it as I do, but life is short and tough and whatever we can do to improve it, even for a single moment, it is better than not doing anything at all..I know your post was intended to mean well and you are probably saturated with the unending flow of resolutions poured out this time of year..but “is this the best that I can do?” doesn’t really give hope it is more based on high self a steem and some of us, steemians or not, might not have much of that for some reason..
That being said I enjoy reading your post! It is always good to challenge our beliefs and you managed to bring interesting subjects always! Keep in touch. :)

People could start fresh just using the simple 7 word question I suggested. I disagree with you that nothing was ever achieved without hope, things are achieved by action. So when the action is completed then ask "is this the best I can do?", if so , good and move on to something else. If not, go back and redo it until it is the best you can do. I don't see how my question could even hint at having to do with high self esteem, it if anything has to do with honest self evaluation of a particular action that you have taken and assessing if it was the best you could do at that point in time with that action.
Over a period of time it may lead to a higher sense of self esteem if you are constantly producing your best work the first time and not having to redo things after the self evaluation using the question I propose.
Different minds think differently, we just are of different minds on this subject.
But deep down, you know I am right.

..........................................................................
Just kidding on the last, about being right.

After careful consideration you might be right..also I might have a point somewhere in there..hehe

You get my Upvote, but I agree more with @sultnpapper ... :))

I thought you might..give me an upvote :))thanks..😋 & ab agreeing with @sultnpapper well ..great minds tend to think alike..too bad I can only do so much as to comment..:))

Ur just saying that, so I would Upvote again.... Fine... At least I know who I give it to.. :) but don't put me and @sultnpapper on the same boat, I'm learning something from him everyday, he can't say the same...

I wasn’t just saying that but I appreciate the support you give me here and in life..and yes I can’t put you in the same boat with him..you have your own boat to sail..:) the rest I think I would rather let him be the judge off ..hehe...

Had never heard of sola. Thanks for sharing. And a happy new year of course!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @sultnpapper to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65634.72
ETH 3493.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51