Why Blogging Is A Huge Waste Of Time, Money, and Energy

in #blog7 years ago (edited)

SIDE NOTE: I have been very hesitant about sharing my thoughts on this, as I dislike appearing negative. I also don't want to discourage some people who want to start blogging, or worse  – trying to make money from blogging.

I have been blogging for more than 1.5 years. You're probably saying ''Well, that's not a long time, you're just bitter.''. However, in during that amount of time, I've learned a lot of things about blogging and digital marketing.

I mean, don't get me wrong... you could learn a lot by blogging, especially if you're blogging about something that you're passionate about or at least interested in. For me, I learned how to improve my writing. As well as how to promote what I've written on my blog, but I guess I have to thank ''online marketing'' for that.

Anyways, here's why I think blogging is a huge waste of time, money, and energy...

It's time-consuming

I don't know about you, but I don't want to spend 4-6 hours everyday writing blog posts for a living. It's just too time-consuming + it's not really worth it when you're just getting started. It's a ghost town. It's like teaching an empty-classroom.

I'm a big fan of writing long a__ articles, I used to spend a whole week trying to write at least an article with 2000+ words in it. And to be honest, that was not fun.

You need to produce a lot of content

This is is specially true when you're just getting started. Why? Because no one really knows who you are, what you do, or even that you exist.

To get over that, you will have to produce tons of content almost everyday so that you may get some visitors to your blog. And I forgot to mention, you have to learn SEO (Search Engine Optimization) which is really technical, confusing, and geeky as it's constantly changing and at most times you're at the mercy of Google. And Google get's to decide if your content is worthy of being on their 1st page results or not.

This means even if you produce tons of content, very few people will find your blog or you'll have to outsource your blog marketing or pay for traffic.

It doesn't make you money

Ok, I know, I know. Some bloggers make a fortune blogging. But the reality is: most bloggers don't make a single cent from their blog. In fact, according to a report by ConvertKit – More than 80% of bloggers in the world don't make it to $100!

The dream of making money from blogging, well, it remains just a dream for so many people.

Although I hope the new blockchain-based social network Steemit.com could change that.

Sort:  

It's outrageously easy to make money here on Steemit blogging and posting. The funny thing is, the length of your posts seems to have no correlation with how much you make. I can spend 2 hours writing an article and make $0.25, meanwhile, a comment that took me 30 seconds to write can earn me $4.00. (I'm new to Steemit and this is nothing compared to what many people are making.) I'm starting to get the suspicion that commenting on other people's posts can make you more than spending hours and hours on your own posts - perhaps until you have a reputation high enough to have people read and upvote your own original content. But as I said, I'm new, and am still experimenting. I think you need to give Steemit more time.

Me too, I'm still trying to figure out what it takes to start making some money here on Steemit. I think as a newbie here on Steemit, commenting needs some SP, so I guess we have to build that up with writing content first. But the idea of getting $4.00 for a comment seems very appealing to me :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95