You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Forget Your Damn Audience (DAILY MANTRA #1)

in #blog7 years ago

Your post made me think of many things.

I have read recently some criticisms of postmodernism. I was entirely unaware that some thinkers think it is at the base of some of the more contentious directions of modern politics.

In speaking of marketing yourself and the nature of the contents that you produce on this platform, the sobering fact is that if you have the thought processes, the resources, and the networking skills to create material that will gravitate towards the top of the "hot" and "trending" lists, then you can make money.

For the rest, it is gambling.

However, I do agree that for the majority that do not have the time and resources to create a directed strategy for "mining" this platform, genuinely creating material that you care about is the best bet.

First of all, you will have some pride in what you do, and second, you might just find an audience!

That is what I am doing, and if I don't find my audience, okay!

Thanks for the post, and best wishes!

Sort:  

Crap! I forgot about something. Sorry for responding to myself...

I recently read an old "classic" on advertising. It was quite surprising.

In my culture, the stereotype of a salesman is someone who could sell you your own socks.

On the contrary, this much cited classic on salesmanship emphasized being able to clearly offer value in an understandable way. It said absolutely nothing on creating a perception of value where there is none.

I think the salesman who has a SUSTAINABLE career is able to tell a digestible story about the value of his product. In this sense, someone who is producing "genuine" material here on Steemit can think about how to present that material. It is probably something I need to think about myself.

Cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64076.80
ETH 3516.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64