You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Trump3t: The Non-Self Voter Promoter Daily Update! Blog Edition!🎺

in #blog7 years ago

I thought spamming was bad! When does advertising become spam? If selfvote is bad, why is it a default? Where is the guideline? Who makes this up? I seem to be missing the point. Feeling quite confused actually. Every Little step of the way someone is passing judgment upon another Steemit neighbor.
What if steemit removed the selfvote button? Why don't they?

Sort:  

Hi @steemseph, the SBD daily is one of my functions to show gratitude to followers but also inform them of new non-self voter posts. I am able to put exceptions for followers that do not wish to receive updates via the payout. Let me know if you would like to opt-out.

If selfvote is bad, why is it a default?

I can't tell you why the devs have not removed it but it is something that has potential for much abuse and degraded quality of content on the platform as a whole. To give you an example, I have observed many Steemians that will maybe download an image from the web, add some text, and then self-vote it. The effect is the perception of quality but not actual quality. It leads to low-effort posts by self-voting doplhins and whales to eclipse the high-effort post of minnows and plankton. It is the antithesis of decentralization. It is the establishment whereby those with deeper pockets are able to be rewarded with minimal effort.

Where is the guideline? Who makes this up?

I believe the witnesses would have influence. Those of us that are against the practice of self-voting need to be active whether it be promoting non-self voted posts or even engaging said witnesses. Perhaps, one or two minnows may not be able to make a difference but thousands, ten thousands, or more? I think we can if we work together.

I seem to be missing the point. Feeling quite confused actually. Every Little step of the way someone is passing judgment upon another Steemit neighbor.
What if steemit removed the selfvote button? Why don't they?

It's ok. I hope I have helped you understand. I would be thrilled if they decided to remove. For now, I ask that you join in supporting the non-self voted posts featured in my updates. It will provide an inventive for people to self vote less or even not at all. Little by little, together can change the culture of this platform.

Thanks for your patience and answers.

I want to trust in my content without the need for extra upvotes. I am a fan of authenticity too.
A collection of likeminded witnesses could create a counsel type of authority.
Defenders/Anti-SelfVoters/Anti-Spammers seem to be benefiting from the very existence of the offending behavior. Is that why you give away SBD?

I want to trust in my content without the need for extra upvotes. I am a fan of authenticity too.

Good on you! Based on our queries so far, it seems that it is a minority of posts that are sorted under hot that are not self voted. It puts the non-self voter at a decided disadvantage. We want this account to help bring balance in favor of people like you.

A collection of likeminded witnesses could create a counsel type of authority.
Defenders/Anti-SelfVoters/Anti-Spammers seem to be benefiting from the very existence of the offending behavior. Is that why you give away SBD?

We may start working on scripts to determine the who those witnesses may be. They may be great allies for the cause. The SBD payout helps to increase the follower base to promote awareness of the project and also serves to notify with link to latest update.

Thanks again for your responses. I see the long term abundance and the nobility. Being a non self voter or not seems like is a matter of choice in a conflicting paradigm. It looks like Steemit developers want us to upvote ourselves.
Steemit dev must have an official opinion somewhere. I'll keep my eyes open.
Thanks for your patience. 🙏

Is @originalworks considered a self-upvote?

I think @originalworks provides a good service to identify authentic and original material which should rightly be rewarded.

Our concern is direct self-votes.

yes, seems like a health services

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57983.67
ETH 2465.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41