Time travelling selfie dude at early Beatles concert!

in #blog7 years ago (edited)

The Beatles and the time travelling Day Tripper


So the other night I sat down to watch the relatively new documentary by Ron Howard on the Beatles, Eight days a week - The  Touring Years 

The early part of the film was describing the heady days of Beatlemania in the UK, the mass hysteria which swept over the country during the Beatles' meteoric rise to fame. Accompanying the narrative and music were scenes and snapshots of delirious fans going completely ape.

At exactly 10 mins 59 secs into the film my phone rang so I hit the pause button. After a brief chat with a friend I made myself something to eat, and sat down to watch the rest of the film.

Then I saw this!


I'd paused the film precisely at the moment the above pic was showing on my TV. "Holy shit!" I blurted out. "It's a guy taking selfies, and he's wearing weird space clothes," I muttered to myself.

Yup, I'd discovered a  time travelling selfie space dude at a Beatles concert. It  suddenly all made sense to me, and within a split second I'd created a complete profile of the guy in my mind. But I figured someone else must have seen this too, so I spent a few minutes searching Google, keying in different permutations of Beatles, Selfie, Time Traveller etc. Nothing came up, zilch. This warranted further investigation!

Elon Musk style time travelling genius? 

In my mind this guy must have been one of those maverick physicists who had been working steadily and secretly in a lab developing his time machine. He must have also been an absolute Beatles fan, right? 

Or maybe he was a rogue government scientist taking a little time machine joy ride back to the early sixties to see his favourite band.

The Plot Thickens: Sherlock Holmes and Russian Cosmonaut

Now it was time to get in touch with my inner Sherlock Holmes. So like any great detective would, I typed "Time travel" into Google and clicked on the second link. I found this. The puzzle was taking shape.

http://www.express.co.uk/news/science/657500/Time-travel-IS-possible-and-has-ALREADY-happened-say-esteemed-physicists

Scrolling down the page......Bingo! We have a winner!

I couldn't believe it! The Russian Cosmonaut Sergei Krikalev didn't just kinda look like the Beatles selfie dude. Their resemblance was uncanny!

I wanted to see if I could find a picture of Sergei Krikalev smiling for a better comparison so I headed back into Google. Lo and behold - 5 seconds later I had it!

Enjoy the Beatles concert Sergei?

Sergei's secret?

According to wiki, Sergei Krikalev  has spent the third largest amount of time in space, totalling  803 days, 9 hours, and 39 minutes. If anyone was to be recruited for time travel exploration, he seemed to have "the right stuff" to do a mission like this. 

https://www.universetoday.com/105650/cosmonaut-sergei-krikalev-the-worlds-most-prolific-time-traveler/

Apparently at one point in Krikalev's career he became stranded in the Russian space station for a whole year. Communism was crumbling in the Soviet Union, and the government had run out of money to bring him back to earth. Or at least that's the narrative we've been led to believe. 

I prefer to think that he was living it up in the 1960's, tagging along with the Beatles and the Stones. I know I would have jumped at the chance if given the opportunity. I would have taken a few awesome selfies too.

Oh, and by the way. If you have a chance to watch the film, do so. It's probably not as good as time travelling to see the Beatles live, but certainly a fascinating look into the past.




Sort:  

Just caught this post because of the deadpost initiative!

What an awesome find! It would be soo cool if it were true, maybe one day they'll tell us the truth ;)

Excellent post and really enjoyable to read. Upvoted and resteemed !! Is a weird community this..a meme gets rewarded 1800 times more than a well presented original article..{shrugs}..100% upvote

Thanks buddy..was thinking the same thing ✔😉 Glad you liked it

I found this one interesting :) Now if only We could time travel to watch the beatles live.

Hmmm now if only you could find more time travel pics. Lol That's cool. I wonder when the first selfie occurred lol Good story.

Cheers - thanks for reading

pretty good..thanks I enjoyed haha

interesting story! Reminds of the moonlanding conspiracy

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 53375.38
ETH 2393.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.15