My 10 Day Gratitude Challenge - Day 10 - Consulting The I CHING

in #blog7 years ago (edited)

 

The Book of Changes

The I Ching, or Book of Changes is a living, breathing oracle which can be consulted for flawless advice. For thousands of years it has been relied upon for its lessons in achieving prosperity, understanding, and peace of mind.

It's generally considered to be the most read of the 5 Chinese Classics and dates back over 4000 years.

It relies on a binary hexagram of 6 lines, broken and unbroken, which then corresponds to 64 readings from the book. Traditionally, the lines were created by tossing coins or yarrow sticks. However, there's no official prescribed method, so a computer program can even be used.

A few famous I Chingers from the west.

Here's a short list of a few familiar names who sang the praises of this ancient text, citing its use for creative inspiration.

1. Aleister Crowley https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Aleister_Crowley

2. Carl Jung https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Carl_Jung

3. Allen Ginsberg https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Allen_Ginsberg

4. Bob Dylan https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bob_Dylan

5. Terence McKenna https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Terence_McKenna

Onto the Question and Reading

I figured, why not ask about how to proceed with Steemit.

So, after 'throwing the coins' I ended up with the 64th, and last hexagram, seen below.

I'll pick out a few of the juicy bits of the reading, to try and encapsulate it.

64. WEI CHI/BEFORE COMPLETION

The image is that of spring, when darkness is about to give way to the light and the plenty of summer. Since the transition is incomplete, it asks for dedication to strengthen clarity, calm, and conscientiousness. True, I certainly need more of these.

It comes as an indication of not having achieved a genuine inner equanimity, and warns of responding to outer pressures with our egos. It reminds us to abandon the hysterics of the ego in favour of acceptance, modesty, and inner balance. This speaks strongly to me, as I have been 'caught up' recently in worry, desire, and aggression.

And I quote, "Quiet your ego, make humility and acceptance your primary goals, and move forward like a fox walking on ice: cautiously, deliberately, and gently. By persevering in what is good and true you build the foundation upon which good fortune can come to rest." Wow, this speaks for itself. I can't deny that I do rush things much of the time, and resist change - see some of my other posts. I like this analogy of the fox, moving slowly and deliberately. Poetic devices like this speak strongly to me, well, stronger than an admonition for sure.

In a nutshell the reading today can summed up by the sub heading from my book -

The transition from chaos to order depends upon your achieving true inner calm

Well, it's hard to argue with that. Chaotic is just one adjective which aptly describes my life at times. Much to work on.

Today's Gratitude List

1. I'm grateful for the teachings of the ancients, which still ring true today, perhaps even 'truer'

2. I'm grateful to have been exposed to these 'teachers' through friends, colleagues, randoms, and the good ol' internet.

3. I'm grateful I have the chance to put these 'teachings' into practice in my everyday life.

4. I'm grateful for the preservation of these ancient texts. Think Great Fire of Alexandria and Mao's 'Cultural Revolution'

5. I'm grateful for the western interpretations, making these books accessible to billions of people otherwise ignorant of them.

And with that, my challenge is complete. However I have a 'shocking' confession. 

Initially, I set out to complete this in 10 consecutive days e.g One after another. On this I failed - it took me 12 or 13 days in total. I actually feel bad about this, owing to my perfectionism.

However, Steemit has taught me in a funny way to just carry on, even if things don't go according to plan on a linear level. That's cool, because nowadays my capacity for self-forgiveness is much improved. I will keep steemin' on nomatter what.

I hope you all do too.

And if you guys would like to consult the I Ching yourselves, here's a link which will guide you through the process. But one word of advice. Use the word 'please' in your question. Enjoy!

http://flytrapinteractive.com/~complimentary/iching/

Images from Google Images.

@steemmeupscotty




Sort:  

Cool read, I'll Hv to try the I Ching myself :)

Haha - yeah, do! It's full of gold :) Btw - when are we gonna see your first blog post, Ms. Tomatoes? ;)

This post has received a 12.50 % upvote from @steemthat thanks to: @binkley.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by steemmeupscotty from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

waiting for more from you steemmeupscotty! keep motivating!

This post has received a 0.63 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 60986.47
ETH 2413.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59