Something beautiful

in #blog7 years ago (edited)

20170811_114552.png
Two months ago while kyaking with boyfriend, I came across a beautiful little anomaly glowing from under fallen trees and dead leaves on a small beach. At the time I didn't have a clue what they were but they were so pretty and I wanted to grow them at home. If they were poisonous I'd keep them in a terrarium.
20170811_114524.png
I dug them up from their incredibly strange looking roots and saved them in a container.
When I got home I immediately googled them and learned they have LOTS of medicinal qualities. Their bionomial name is Monotropa Uniflora, but it is also known as Indian Pipe plant, Ghost flower, Fits flower(because it stops seizures), and more..
Unlike most plants, it does not contain chlorophyll. Instead of feeding off of sunlight, it is parasitic, meaning it feeds off of the nutrients of the fallen organic matter around it.
In the end I found out it isn't really conceivable to grow it so I ended up making a tincture out of my flowers and it turned purple.
Look!
20170811_114718.png

Sort:  

Congratulations @steem-tes! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @steem-tes! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58324.43
ETH 3144.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38