The French Maid

in #blog7 years ago

Fifi was told to never go in the Professor's basement, but she wasn't the smartest maid who ever worked there, and thought it must be really dirty down there, so she should clean it.

frenchmaidmid.jpg

This is based on a joke, but it was no joke to make - in fact it was technically very difficult to set up. Again, I didn't use ZBrush for this one, just Maya and Photoshop for texturing. No normal maps, just bump maps. And no Poser.

I started with a female figure I'd been perfecting for many years, I started in Alias PowerAnimator in the 90's.

body7testscreen2.jpg

S7headsidescreen.jpg

Then I researched materials, shaders and lighting in Maya

test16.jpg

Skin and hair was particularly tricky back then.

test21.jpg

Then I started composing the scene.

frenchmaid4.jpg

The mummy was created by shrink-wrapping a plane around a generic skeleton, then ripping some holes and doing some vert-by-vert moving. A bit like building the Eiffel tower out of match sticks. :)

Final retouching was done in Photoshop, you can see before and after here, what I added by painting:

frenchmaidretouch.jpg

Thank you for watching! :)

(I'll upvote myself, but I'll save it for later to give others a chance to earn curation. And I won't be buying votes in 3 days either.)

Sort:  

Wow, I also like the version with the black stockings 😋 And great respect for your upvote policy :)

Me emociona ver los trabajos de animación, como han logrado nuevos detalles tan realistas, me gusta el diseño lo que impide es que se necesita Buenos equipos para que soporte los programas que en su mayoría son muy pesados.

Very naughty. Indeed I'm exhausted just reading all you went through to make this! But the lighting and shading is outstanding. Looks pretty realistic.

@stahlberg you know there is an upcoming game from Quantic dreams called Detroit :Become Human that reminded me alot of Android Blues, so much so I wondered if you were involved in it's production considering it is something right up your alley.

Ah yes I heard about it. I did work with Quantic Dream some years back as a freelancer on a tech demonstration and some assets for Heavy Rain, but not this game. It looks very promising.

Well I'm glad you changed her arms to the final pose as it looks a lot better than the initial one XD

There's ngons! D: (don't mind me I get a bit ocd about topology, I don't even like triangles in my meshes, and I still haven't worked out a way to get it "nice" around the hips -_-)

Man I still find skin hard work with current tools of easy awesomeness, and I don't even do realism. You did an awesome job with the skin and the hair despite the technical difficulties at the time :)

You keep saying "no Poser", is it a normal part of your toolset these days or do people just keep asking you if you use it? XD

goatsig

I think today many people would assume I at least started from a Poser asset, because they are so high quality, fairly cheap and thus quite prevalent.
Yes there's ngons, but you know what happens when you subdivide right? (even just once) All ngons disappear like magic... :) Anyway, I never had any problem animating with ngons. Sculpting in ZBrush might have been an issue if I'd been doing that. But sometimes when sculpting is not an option, ngons are the most efficient way to get the shape you need.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Stahlberg from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

  • a french maid would be cool,

Wow, how real! Perfect work!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63207.55
ETH 2571.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82