[Blog] Running a semi marathon without training?

in #blog6 years ago

man, I haven't written anything in such a long time... sigh... I am lazy?

My friends, if would tell you that I plan in 14 days to run a semi marathon ( 21 km) without, almost, any training how would you call me? Foolish, crazy? Brave?

This is exactly what I'm planning to do. On 22nd of April I'll participate in a 21km race. I haven't run a single meter till now or did any other training. So I have less that two weeks to get myself ready for it.

I don't plan on winning it. I might be out of my mind, but not that much. I just want to finish it. In less that two hours. Last year I did it in 2 hours and 30 minutes. And, I never had any real training back then either. I just run a couple of days per week. The longest distance that I managed to pull before the race was 5 km.

I truly wanted to go out and run. I truly did. But the weather in March got me good. How can you go out and run in a blizzard?

Nevertheless, I'm confident. I walk 2 km from home to work everyday. And 2 more on the way back. I know, walking is not the same as running, but at least I got some kind of exercise. In the next couple of days I will slowly train. And run. I'm confident that by the time of the race, I will be able to achieve my goal.

These races are mostly mental. Not physical. And on the mental part, I think I've got it covered.

I'll keep you up to date with my progress.

What do you think? Will I be able to do it or not? Let me know in the comment section.

Image source:Pixabay

Sort:  

Of course an idiot should train you well to succeed and continue successfully

not sure if this is an insult or not :))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64544.47
ETH 3417.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48