The scariest day of my life

in #blog6 years ago

It all started when one day I needed to go to the store and I had left my son's carseat in my brother's girlfriends car and so my mom told me to use the built in carseats that were in her van. I was hesitant and really didn't want to because I had never used them. I really wanted his carseat but for whatever reason my brother's girlfriend would not bring it to my mom's house. So even though I hesitated I decided I wanted to take my son with me to go shopping since he didn't get out much because he was only so many months old and was just able to hold his head up by himself.

I put him in the carseat and strapped him in the built in carseat. I made sure that the head rest was locked into place so it would not fall down or so I thought I did. Well we started driving down my parents long driveway and then turned onto the main highway. I proceeded to the stop sign and when I got to the stop sign something told me to look back and check on him. Well when I did look back he was turning blue and I noticed the head rest had fallen down and pushing his head down to where the chest piece that was supposed on be on his chest had somehow got up to his neck and so it was cutting off his airway and he was always a quiet baby and as soon as I saw that I put the van in park in the middle of the road and jumped up and ran to him and unbuckled him so fast and kept saying to him are you ok. I was so worried and so upset and so mad. I cried knowing I could have lost him right then and there. I never did go to the store but I turned back and went back to her house and told her what happened when she saw I was so upset. I told her never again am I using those. I said from now on I want his carseat and if I have to buy another carseat I will.

I think about it to this day and it still scares me how close I was to losing him. If it had not been for God telling me to look back and check on him then he would not be here. I am a very cautious person and after that day I am even more cautious.

He is now 8 years old. I love every minute and every day with him. It really makes you put life into perspective.

20839497_1952900321630002_378804597_n.jpg

Sort:  

I really felt like punching my brother's girlfriend at the time. She didn't like me at all so she was doing these things on purpose. Good thing my brother is not with her anymore and he has full custody of my niece now.

Was it god or was it your instinct? Either way I am glad you checked on him. I am very happy this story did not end badly. You are very lucky.......

I believe it was both. Yes very lucky. I am glad it didn't end badly either.

Congratulations @sonyavlog! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @sonyavlog! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54114.77
ETH 2331.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.13