Looking for work

in #blog7 years ago

I used to make ten or eleven dollars per hour, realizing that I couldn’t live on that in N.J. and having had a kid I went to school for a technical degree for Automobile Repair, I thought I would be making like 14 or 15 bucks an hour doing it at least. Boy was I wrong. If you are thinking of becoming an auto tech forget about it, huge waste of time.
So I spent 2 and a half years in college which I think came out to around 17 grand? 20 ? The government footed most of the tab as it was a cheap county college. I went out and bought another 10 thousand dollars in tools just to have a starter set, I had almost a years’ experience in a dealership shop while doing school, and now I go for an interview and they want to pay me ten fucking dollars an hour? I also finished at the top of my classes, have half my ASE certs and love working on cars. Really? , I should just sell my fucking tools and work at wal mart.
Well at least I’ll keep my old beater riding great for years to come. I beat that fucking car like I beat my girls Ass. Like a savage.
I am still looking for work, I’ll stick with it just because well I’m in too far to pull out now. I put in 4 applications this morning, if you’re wondering what to do with your life and are considering a technical education take my advice and skip the auto field.
I was really bummed out at that low offer, hoping it gets better.
I still have a few weeks worth of cash on hand so I a not sweating too badly yet.

btc 16JqrvwGDU2CPMpoEbqSvDYr34eM9mYwfW

Sort:  

Congratulations @solvent! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63501.83
ETH 2650.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81