Eating this wild mushroom cause Im broke AF

in #blog7 years ago

IMG_20170924_173658.jpg
This here is called a hen of the woods and grows this time of year in my present location, in fact I found a couple right next to my Shangri-La, a free meal I’m sure most people turn away from. I started thinking about eating it since I am out of work I need to stretch my dollars here. The first thing I did was have it identified in a mushroom group on facebook, it was identified and the folks there let me know it was ok to eat it. I picked it and bugs came out of it, beetles and gnats. I proceeded to rinse it off and chop it up trying unsuccessfully to remove all the dirt. I also have some jalapeños growing that I chopped up with garlic cloves from the store, and finally I added coconut oil to the mix.
Since I am getting older I think about nutrition a lot and wanted to know the nutritional value of this thing I looked it up and it’s got a little bit of potassium, some trace nutrients, a load of vitamin d, and some shit called polysaccharides that are supposed to enhance your immune system and possibly fight cancer, interesting.
IMG_20170924_192727.jpg
So I cooked that shizzle up took a few bowl rips and dug in. Now I have to admit, I fucking hate mushrooms, I can barely get them down to get high, and yet here I was chowing down on something from the back yard that the dog probably peed on. The coconut oil was a real mistake too. This mushroom is described as having a potent and nutty flavor. Potent bleh more like, and the dirt crunched on my teeth. After a few mouthfuls I decided to scrap this endeavor.
Donations appreciated
btc 16JqrvwGDU2CPMpoEbqSvDYr34eM9mYwfW

Sort:  

Is this the same one as chicken of the woods?
Or are they different?

Also, broke or not, wild food is good for you. :P
Always learn your native plants for food and medicine incase SHTF.

Different, I have chicken of the woods here too but I saw them too late, they are yellowish.

ok. That's what i thought. :P