HOME MADE STICKY RIBS - The Perfect snack food for watching the Rio Olympics!

in #blog8 years ago

Can you believe it is time for the Olympics again? It still fazes me how quickly time passes the older I get – I feel like time is just slipping through my fingers and I can’t grab onto it. But – while time may be slipping away, you can definitely grab onto these bad boys that Imma show you up next.

First question: Do you like ribs? Scratch that - Who doesn’t like ribs?

Onto my second question: Who else feels the need to bite into a deliciously sticky rib while watching the Olympians twist and turn in all their their 0% bodyfat glory, and instantly feel better?

You know what I’m talking about. You can relate? Well then look no further, because I am going to show you how to make the most deliciously sticky ribs ever.

I can just imagine myself sitting on the sofa in front of the telly, sticky rib in one hand, beer can in the other, all the while my puppy sits by my feet looking at me with the most loving gaze ever… or maybe gazing at the rib in my hand. And I will just pretend it is directed at me.

But, before I get you all hot and bothered (just like these ribs will, believe me!), I won’t go on without sharing my delicious recipe with you, so get ready to get a-bakin’.
So, to feed 3-4, you’ll need:
INGREDIENTS:
500 g – 1 kg of ribs
For the BBQ Sauce:
1 onion, finely chopped
3 garlic cloves, finely chopped
100-120 ml of pineapple juice
85 g honey, (and a few drizzles extra, depending on how sweet and sticky you want the ribs)
salt and pepper, a good pinch
smoked paprika (for the smokey flavor)
2 tbsp of Worcestershire Sauce (mine is from Lea & Perrins)
1 tbsp tomato purée

INSTRUCTIONS:

Preheat your oven to 200 degrees Celcius.

Place your ribs in a baking dish and pour the pineapple juice over the ribs.

The acidity in the pineapple juice helps break down and tenderize the ribs while the juice also offers some sweetness and extra flavor.

Add a pinch of salt and pepper, cover with aluminium foil and bake for about an hour, covered.

After the ribs have been baking for the hour, remove the aluminium foil and assess how much pineapple juice is still left. If there is a lot, you can pour some out to leave about a centimeter of juice at the bottom of the baking tray.
Drizzle both sides of the ribs with some honey and bake uncovered for another 15-20 minutes.

Meanwhile make your homemade BBQ sauce.

To make the BBQ sauce:

Heat oil in saucepan and add the chopped onion and garlic. Cook for around 4-5 minutes until both are softened.

Add the other ingredients, bring to a boil and reduce the heat to a simmer. Let sauce simmer for 15-20 minutes, until thickened.

If you want a smooth sauce, pour the sauce into a blender and whizz up for a few seconds.
Voila! Your homemade BBQ sauce is done.

Back to the ribs:

Slather both sides of the ribs with your BBQ sauce (make sure to save some for extra sauce later though!) and bake at 200 degrees Celcius for another 30 minutes to an hour.

For the last 15 minutes, I like to drizzle some more honey on top of the ribs and turn the broiler on to caramelize the honey and make the ribs really sticky.

Take out of the oven, let cool for 5-10 minutes and cut in-between the ribs. And voila! Ribs are done.

I like to serve up these bad boys with some baked sweet potato fries (let me know if you want the recipe on these bad boys too!).

And with that all I can say is… enjoy your sticky ribs!


Love,
Rosalina

Sort:  

Awesome, i love ribs. Had ribs this weekend too. 6h on a smoker, smoked with cherrywood. Nice post @sisterholics, looks like it was good.

you can't beat ribs on the smoker!

true, that's like a bonus on top...but yours honestly look so delicious too

6hs on the smoker man I bet they were fall off the bone tender I can see them now

Got to make me some of those for my next Super Bowl party!

yes, they^re the perfect party snack!

It is official i love you girls ..... RIBS!!!!!

God I love ribs! You guys are secretly trying to make us all fat I think:)

i would die for these right now!

me too, its so close to lunch here and i'm begining to regret looking at these pictures before eating hahah

oh god! looks soooo good!

Yep, both looks good. ;)

dibs on those ribs! that glaze is mouthwatering!

Great recipe and the BBQ sauce looks fab. I have used pineapple juice in many a chilli concoction too much success so looking forward to trying this

Those Ribs look amazing , I am going to try out the recipie thank you :)

@mrgrey

Thank you for all of your support! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69942.87
ETH 3793.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73