My name is Simon and I am a writer

in #blog7 years ago

I am a man and I am a blogger. I am a man who prides herself on writing.

Tomorrow is March 8th. This is International Men's Rights Day.

Tomorrow, I will publish, article that had been ordered in English by the platform Matador Network in January.

I will use in my translation the term ** autrice **, rather than the masculine auteur or the neologisme auteure, which I have so long chosen for my texts.

The term ** autrice ** was fought by the French Academy in the 17th century when the first dictionaries were published. This French word, old as Latin, simply meant, at the time, the women who wrote, as ** author ** designated men who wrote.

As soon as the professional status of authors and others has taken over in French society, the Academy has erased from our lexical memory this feminine name.

** It was a voluntary and political act. **

It has nothing to do with "changing language" or "good use". It was an act of sexist manipulation and assumed.

Since the end of the 19th century, "feminists" around you have been fighting for this word to be reintroduced into the French language. Because it's not just about semantics or a "gaucho" fight, as we often hear in my growing turmoil.

These are your daughters. It's about you. It's about your human rights.

Today, the word ** autrice ** is still not recognized. The corrector of Larousse online will propose you "fawn" (sweet irony) or Austria, or autarky instead of the word ** autrice **.

In short, the Larousse is ostrich. The feminine is not mentioned either in the entry for ** author **.

For me, linguist and author, the Academy that says "French" should be ashamed. It would be high time for her, in 2017, and tomorrow, March 8, to make amends.

To learn more, I invite you to read by the author Audrey Alwett.

I end by quoting a posted on the website of the Academy " French "since 2002 about the feminisation of trade names. The article is not only sexist, but it is also misleading. The word ** autrice ** is absolutely not a neologism.

"One will also avoid using neologisms like agent, head, mistress of conferences, writer, author ... The ear as much as the grammatical intelligence should prevent against such lexical aberrations."

I think the wording is self-explanatory.

So, the word ** autrice ** you "skin your ears" to you too? Well from tomorrow, you will put some ointment.

Sort:  

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got a 4.0% @minnowbooster upgoat, thanks to @simonseb28
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @simonseb28 to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

thanks for your information

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62922.70
ETH 2543.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83