Pluto and Charon (My Relationship with Father) A Poem

in #blog7 years ago (edited)

My father passed a way about 11 months ago. Although I loved him, I had a strained relationship with him my entire life. One of the problems I had was that my Dad was a narcissist. This meant that he could only see my problems as extensions of himself. I forgave him for his parental neglect along time ago because it's not like he abused me consciously. Being a narcissist is not a choice after all.

Pluto as seen from its moon: Charon:

pluto-from-charon.jpg

You were as close at 12,000 miles away
Yet Cold and Remote
Icy.

I saw you close.
You were physically close
Yet far away from any source of warmth
As was I from You.

I was the smaller, the lesser.
I was Charon
I embraced you in your dark place
Not enough Light.

Not enough warmth
Cold and foreboding.

Our proximity to one another was eternal
But far away from the outside
The Light source was too far away.

You were ancient
You captured me
I was betwixt and between.

At the end of the day,
However, I know that I am not you
And you were never me
We were, are, and will be distinct
Eternally.

Sort:  

This was good. It is good that you forgave your father. Forgiveness is difficult.

Thank you. Yeah I forgave him. It wasn't his fault; it was just an "is".

That wonderful poem that you present under the premise of the relationship with your father, are really tied hand in hand. How good it is to be able to carry our thoughts, our feelings, our loved ones to that poetic terrain where everything flows so clearly and so real. I congratulate you on your publication and the expression of your feelings. Greetings

Thank you. I am a new to poetry. Thanks again so much for the feedbacK!!!!!

It has been a pleasure. Greetings.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63811.50
ETH 2617.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77