Deceptive Marketing among the Entrepreneur Class. "Cashing in While you can".

in #blog7 years ago (edited)

I was graduated from the Monterey Institute of International Studies for a BA degree in Russian in May 1990, I did the because I attracted to the idea of becoming either a English-Russian translator to interpreter. (The school is primarily an international graduate school known for producing excellent interpreters and translators. It also has a MBA program. The School as now changed its name to the MIddlebury School of International Studies and is now a West Coast affiliate of prestigious, Middlbury Schoo of l Languages in Vermont ).Things did not work according to plan because I ran out of money. A problem effecting many students then and now. I do remember the classes that were taken by some of my more business orientated peers (International Business Students).

middlebury4.jpg

These classes were business classes with names like "Eco-Friendly Marketing,"and "Community Needs and the Business Organisation". These classes supposedly emphasised care for the environment and concerns of the community. In short, you might say that these courses were "sexy".

At the time I was at this school in the early 90's, I thought that these classes were very nice and even "proactive": I thought what would be better than to see a confluence of international business concerns with those of the environment and of the larger community. It would takes me years latter in life to understand that some these (Not all of course) would-be entrepreneurs would be just as conniving and wicked as the "Bad Business Players" they would ostensibly replace. In short, some would become quite greedy and use this same marketing ploy once they started successful businesses of their own.

In 2010, I moved to Jerusalem. I was 46 at the time, had no income, no place to live and no connections.(All my fault). Somehow, I found a brand new hostel in time that was willing to take me in - Free Room and Board- for labor. I was happy.Moreover, this hostel's marketing said that they were interested in "Social Justice," "Minority Rights", "A political Solution." I felt I had really lucked out and was with a very nice group of businessmen.

Boy was wrong! No sooner had arrived, than I and other "volunteers" were yelled at constantly, overworked and generally mistreated. I even one evening saw one of these "benevolent" owners push an old woman "off of his property," saying if "you can't pay you must leave". She was outside and he literally pushed her away from the front door. The poor woman almost fell to the ground.

"You will love the Stranger because You were once Strangers in the Land of Egypt"
26168108_1975181106135677_7405444619323841934_n.jpg

I have long since left this place and have come to realise that deception is part of the game for those who play "the game" of deceit in the entrepreneurship. I recently saw this business' latest marketing ploy when I was in an other city in the country. This sign in Hebrew roughly translates from Deuteronomy as follows: "You will Love the Stranger because you were once strangers in the land of Egypt".

The owners have cashed in on to a new gimmick to market themselves on the all the illegal workers who now live here. Yes, knowing how they treat every body who works for them wether or not they be citizen or "stranger,s"I would say the dollar sound is their true religion and not some "sexy" marketing slogan

Sort:  

Nice story that you share !

Thank you! Glad you liked it.

Sorry to hear of your story there. Did you try staying at the Post hostel, just down the street? I was happy in a 4 person room there for almost a month.

I have never heard about it but I don't know if it matters here. The well connected and well-healed tend to bully everyone else here it doesn't seem to matter what politics they have as far as I can see.

I dunno. I was friendly with most of the staff there, they were nice once you got past the hardened exterior. And most of them are young, and hung out with the guests.

I think you should read more carefully what I wrote. I am writing about the class diffs and duplicitous nature of the the well-healed not on this particular establishment in particular.

I read what you wrote, but I had nothing to comment on that particular aspect of your post. I suppose I shouldn't have commented then.

It's an overall attitude I have encountered among wealthy people since I have come here. I like Israel. I don't go along with some of the mentality issues here.

Maybe I didn't meet enough rich people!

Since I was homeless at one time in Jerusalem, every one relative to me was wealthy and they thought mostly about themselves. That is the one thing I remember. I don't take how I have been treated by others lightly. No one should. The mentality tends to be on the harsh side.

Since 2010 have you tried to take advantage of all the programmes for olim? Did you get all your benefits, and a family sponsor for example?

I'm having trouble reconciling what you're saying with my experience there, and so far with NBN and Jewish agency being so helpful. The job boards, advice, etc.

Other than giving a job,(and only if it's at a major company,) I don't see what wealthy people you necessarily need to interact with? You can get a job at a small place right?

But I agree with what is said in Devarim, and hope your future encounters go accordingly...

I think now things are going to be OK for now BUT the OLIM "systems" are poorly run once you get here. A lot of people fall through the cracks. There is a great deal of human suffering you MAY not be aware of because the attitude here is that if you are Jewish, you are completely OK. That is simple not true and I will use whatever forum I can to say so.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63294.77
ETH 2638.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70