How do people in countries with warm climates manage to run???

in #blog7 years ago

I live on the east coast of England, usually the weather isn't a problem with my running but the last few days has been unbearable! I don't normally take a water bottle with me, even on long runs but the weather here has been that hot and sunny I've had to take water out with me. Not just to drink but to splash over me to cool me down. I hate carrying a bottle when I run, I have tried a couple of different ones but not got on with them. These are the two I have tried. The pink one is soft so you can roll it up and hook it onto yourself. I did find this one better although I still didn't get on with holding it very well.

30D9F45D-662E-4775-823C-71B2C078612A.jpg

I went online to find an alternative, I'd tried running belts before but found they didn't stay put although I hadn't tried a hydration belt so I splashed out and bought one praying that it would be ok as it wasn't cheap. The reviews were good so my fingers were crossed. It was delivered yesterday so I got up early this morning to try it out.

It wasn't as hot today which was a good thing but I still wanted to try it as I was going on quite a long run. I set out and thought oh no this isn't going to work but I adjusted it until it sat comfortably. Then away I went. Here's a picture of my run. It wasn't a bad run, I was quite pleased with it.

IMG_6693.JPG

The hydration belt was superb it didn't move or ride up, the bottles were easy to get in and out whist running so it worked perfectly. Here's a picture of the belt excuse the belly though lol

IMG_6718.JPG

I still find it hard to run in the heat but having water with me helped so much!

I hope you enjoyed this post, please upvote, resteem and follow if you did so you can see more of my posts.

Happy reading peeps 🖤

Sort:  

My advise is to prehydrate half an hour before exercise and afterwards drink enough fluids (water or sportdrinks with electrolyte). Up to 10K i can manage without having to hydrate during exercise, but on longer runs I bring 500cc of water with me with a special belt.

You get used to it with time... like the kenyans running at high altidudes.. its not the easiest thing to do...

Some of my friends wear a hydration camel pack, I have one, I hate it. Others who are less concerned about etiquette drink from random garden hoses.
I can't run at the moment, but when I was, if it was less than two hours I would just rehydrate at the end, or plan a circuit to lap back to my make shift drink station.
I hate carrying anything when I run. But the belt looks like a better scenario. If I get the chance again, I will give it a shot.
Over 35 degrees Celsius I would hit the treadmill in the AC at the gym.

Know what you mean @shazza - I did club training here in the UK in 31'C yesterday evening - quite surreal. Upvoted and following you.

Florida here. Boyfriend likes to run at 2 or 3 am when it's cooler. Lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 65174.92
ETH 3530.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51