My First 1,000 In STEEM POWER!

in #blog8 years ago

It happened.

I powered up.

I split my steemit earnings in half, exchanging 50% for litecoin in anticipation for SegWit, and the other 50% right back into steemit as STEEM POWER.

Now, I have 1,000+ STEEM POWER

image
*

Am I officially an minnow? I don't know -- still trying to figure things out here.

But, in a way, I like discovering this place as I use it.

No tutorial.

No training wheels.

Things just seem to happen.

It reminds me of the untamed outdoors when I was a kid in the 80s, where you would leave the house at sun up and return at sun down with scrapes, bumps, and memories; or surfing the internet in the 90s when people had personal websites filled with dangerous and deeply personal text and spinning .gifs.

In any case, I thank you for having me, steemit -- you nutty bastards! It's been a real treat so far and I look forward to so much more as the months in this crazy year fly by.

Take care and shadilay.

@shayne

Sort:  
You have 2.2 Million Vests right now.
That means you became a minnow at just under 500 steem.
Next Stop -- Dolphin at around 4500 steem!

Plankton = up to 1M VEST
Minnow = 1 to 10M VESTS
Dolphin = 10 to 100M VESTS
Orca = 100 - 1000M VESTS
Whale = more than 1000M VESTS

Lol, I didn't there's a plankton category..

What's a VEST?

Thanks, btw

I don't quite know how to explain it, but you earn "vests" with each bit of Steem.
Look here to see how many you have:
https://steemd.com/@shayne

Wow... That's a whole lot of things that I don't understand, haha. Well, I guess I should get vested up!

I picture every time you do your videos, when you look straight into the camera. Like you are initiating an iris scan to officially vlog on Steemit. And how you end it with your finger swiping down like its a touch screen.

Keeping Steeming On Shanye,
Frank

Huh... neat!

Part of brand building on YouTube is using your intro/outro to do consistent things that people can interpret in their own way and create an evolving culture. The Hodge Twins get this better than anyone. Also PewDiePie with "Haaooooowws it goin', Bros? My name's PeeeeewwwwDi'PIE" and "Brofist", and Styxhexenhammer666 who starts every video with "Alright YouTube" and ends with "That's about all... peace out."

But I do like the idea that my videos are somehow very highly secure and need to be started with a retina scan, hah!

Love your two analogies, can relate to both.
GL on your journey. I am about to reach 1k earned today as well.

Congrats to you as well!

It reminds me of the untamed outdoors when I was a kid in the 80s, where you would leave the house at sun up and return at sun down with scrapes, bumps, and memories; or surfing the internet in the 90s when people had personal websites filled with dangerous and deeply personal text and spinning .gifs.

Very nice and apt description lol. I miss netscape and geocities.

I guess whoever stays are the early-adopter types who can bear with little hand-holding and niceties atm. Can't wait for the ui / ux be improved for mass adoption in the future, but I guess that'll depend on our inputs / activities as a community too.

Just the other day my wife had an online prompt suggest she open the website in firefox. I thought, what is this, 2005? lol. Yeah, netscape, geocities, newgrounds, ebaums world, livejournal... the internet was a very different place back then.

As far as steemit goes: I figure if I can build a following, get posts with an average of 100 likes and roughly $10 payouts NOW, then I'll be pretty well set when the ui improvements come. And it seems that I'm well on my way to achieving that goal. :D

Congrats on your milestone! I'm just a little bit of SP away from becoming a Dolphin. Whoop whoop ! We will be getting there ;)

Thanks!

You are way ahead of me :O

No worry's just keep steemin and you'll get there ;) Or invest just a little bit more! :D

Very nice. Succes on the future!

Yes, for us all!

Well done and congrats! I just surpassed 2000 Steem power not long ago myself. I'm working towards becoming a Dolphin!

Sweet! I guess we have the same goals. :D

I also love the organic nature of the platform, as it grows around us.

Indeed. And with it being open source, you have folks making developments on their own and presenting them to the community for approval, so we get what we want. It's a very interesting system and I'm really jazzed to see how it'll develop.

Congratulations :) I too find it best just to explore steemit. I love to take part in different community events.

Thanks. :) It really is a community here. People aren't generally shitheads. There's a sense of decency and friendliness that I don't really see elsewhere, and it's getting better: I see the "steemit circlejerk" becoming less and less of a thing, which is great for the platform -- it means it's maturing in a good way.

How do you keep up with community events?

I just participlate in collabs and contests I find in the art or poetry section/tag. A great way to meet new people here. I also just write poems for art, when I see an artpiece that inspires me. it´s just fun.

Yeah, good people. Hitting the trending, hot, and new tabs and commenting on posts seems to be another good way to get yourself out there.

Congrats

Yeah you are a "minnow" when you sign up for Steemit. You become a "dolphin" when you acquire 5,000 SP Power or more.

To be a "whale" you need like 50,000 SP I believe. Could be more, IDK it'll be a long long time before I am a whale.

What's really the benefit of being a whale anyway? People trying to get your attention all day to upvote their shit? lol, I don't know, being a dolphin or an orca seem like good places to sit.

The benefit is that, for someone like myself who posts very controversial topics, I can use the SP power to ensure my posts are not flagged out of existence and more importantly, and if I was a whale I could push posts that I feel are important to the top of the trending feeds so more people see the information.

Good points. I wonder how truly whale-driven steemit really is. hmm...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62816.09
ETH 2466.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64