One Question and one answer and she left the world

in #blog7 years ago

Madam the challenges in my life were at times very painful, medicine has caused me to feel something I never imagined could be so bleak nothingness. It is quite astounding actually how little I feel nowadays. I feel numb on a daily basis, like a nurse has injected some local anesthetic into my heart which hasn’t worn off. Nothing seems to bother me anymore. After cadaveric dissection, nothing is gruesome, the boundaries by which I could operate on someone without feeling any hesitation are endless.
There’s something about hammering a ribcage open with a chisel on a deceased old lady that breaks down those barriers for you, and they can never be built back up. In addition, disease and death are talked and laughed about in such matter-of-fact ways that they’ve become boringly dull to me. No longer am I heartbroken for the cancer patient, or devastated for the young mother who died in a car accident, because I feel nothingness.

We are only ever taught about the scientific basis of afflictions, never the emotional or spiritual impact on both the patient and ourselves. My spiritual life has suffered too. No longer do I appreciate the world around me with the overflowing gratitude I used to hold. Instead, I just wallow. I am strongly considering dropping out of medical school to pursue another path, not because I detest the vocation, but because I am scared I am losing pieces of me that I will never get back.

I am scared that after only six months, I am just a vessel with no life and that I will never feel what it feels like to feel ever again. I am scared I will never have another tear fall from my eye. Is really worth sacrificing my soul to this profession?

Answer:-

You are not alone. Med students all across the world experience the dehumanizing effects of medical training. The basis of our education is a flawed reductionist medical model that views the human body as a machine a bag of parts to be conquered.

Reductionism leads to mind-body-spirit disintegration. Consequently, you are losing connection with your heart and soul.the reason you went into medicine, the purpose of your very life. Keep a clear and unwavering focus on your dream , the original vision that led you to medicine. Read your personal statement daily. Hang it all around your house. Never allow anyone to steal your dream. Maintain your emotional health. I believe all medical students should receive weekly counseling with a professional not a friend, not a spouse.

If you feel sad, cry. Tears are cleansing. When humans bottle up their trauma with no outlet, they become numb, detached, sick. You must be well to guide others to health. By caring for yourself, you will not only help patients; you’ll help your classmates and teachers heal. They are wounded too. Be a beacon of hope for them. Even if triggered by your joy, they’ll be less likely to injure you with their pain. They need you. When you are resourced and well, you will once again be able to look into people’s eyes and be a sacred witness to their suffering. You will experience true intimacy which means “in to me see.” For patients to see inside you, and for you to see inside them, you must be inside your body. Blessings to you on your journey

ccc.jpg

Every one here in this world is mortal only God is immortal, everyone has to go one day , so always live with your loved ones and spend your life with happiness

if you like this article keep upvote mee and resteem it

thanku

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58009.23
ETH 3063.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34