The CREATIVE TRAP - The best part about steemit

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

All of us here feel a constant need to create. For a long time I've been told I am creative or different by others but I always thought that was just a kinder way of people calling me weird. Why? Because I didn't create anything! NOTHING! How can someone be considered creative if they don't create? I recently joined steemit and realized that all of us feel a constant need to create, as humans we cant help it! Some people like to create big elaborate projects or write entire books then there's your bloggers and even meme generators. The entire internet is flooded with content of peoples creations! This leaves most of us trying to sift through and find what we deem as worthy or relevant. Most of the time I lose track of what I was even searching for or why I'm searching at all. I spent so much time seeking out verification that I should be creating and doing more with my life to then feeling discouraged by comparing creations that don't even exist. My need to create would subdue and all that was left was feeling weird. Nobody likes feeling weird but we all constantly strive towards feeling unique.

It wasn't until recently I discovered I was letting the world tell me what is creating. I thought of creating as only being art or anything that showed a finished product. Creating is something we all do everyday though, whether we realize it or not. Working as a barista was one of the most creative jobs I've ever had and in my mind it was just a paycheck. Now I would kill to get behind a counter and make a few lattes! Some of you probably feel the same as most jobs, especially the higher paying ones, are geared towards sitting at a computer or performing routine business tasks. By the end of the day you can be left feeling weird or discouraged, maybe even sad and you're not sure why. You weren't able to create and your day was drafted for you.

This misery made me sleepwalk through many years and frankly most of my life. I dreaded school and all its structure, dreaded having to go to work, even dreaded the weekend plans with a friend - Stupid Bethany and her baby shower ruining EVERYTHING. I would spend so much energy resenting not being able to have time to create that when I finally could create I forgot how. Many years were spent this way feeling depressed, lonely, and weird all because I wanted to create and had nothing to create.

Discovering that there is creativity in every part of our daily lives has helped me get out of this trap. I'm being creative when I'm cooking breakfast or doing my workout, even when writing an email - changed my email font to white and wrote Brenda's a Bitch - I haven't actually but am always tempted. As a kid you are being creative all day because everything's new. As an adult all these tasks we do feel like routine rituals most of them we perform as a responsibility. Although it might feel like you don't get to choose what you do everyday, you do get to choose how you do everything everyday.

My point is, we are never going to feel like we have enough time and not every creative moment is going to produce a finished product. You have to constantly keep creating and hope one day you will create something deemed good or worthy by all. Don't torture yourself over titles or wait for the world to verify that you are indeed creative. Work everyday on your projects that matter most and enjoy your structured time as a sort of warm up for the masterpiece. Realizing you get to be creative everyday, in all things you do, will help you reach that creative peak during the set aside time that's been carved out to create. Lets hope this works towards one day being able to structure your own time all the time.

Thanks for reading, I'm new to steemit but you can expect random posts, drawings, videos, and who knows whatever else I fall into.

Happy creating creatures!

Sort:  

I LOVE THIS. Great job, Sefra!

Thanks! I hope this helps anyone who feels stuck in a creative rut.

Congratulations @sefra! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Comment

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64418.55
ETH 3157.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.06