What Are You Afraid Of?

in #blog8 years ago (edited)

Nope.

No way.

That's insane.

Only "other people" do things like that. But...who are these other people and what makes them so special? Why couldn't I ride my motorcycle across the country?

EXCUSES, EXCUSES...

Mike had recently bought a motorcycle and was looking for someone who wanted to ride to Vegas with him. After I read his Facebook post I was pacing around my AirBnB in Santa Monica at there mere thought of it. I had recently quit my job. I was in Sunny California to work on my crazy, weird, shy, introverted nature. How much leaning in could I actually do? Failure on a motorcycle could easily mean death. It was 1900 miles if I drove in a straight line, which is not what motorcycles are made for, and I was an inexperienced rider to begin with. Something as benign as running out of gas could turn in to a huge problem in the desert. Sleepiness, dehydration, other drivers. There were so many more ways to fail than there were to succeed.

In life you can do everything right and you're still gonna die. There's no need to rush it.

“The cave you fear to enter holds the treasure you seek.”
— Joseph Campbell

It all boiled down to "I'm scared." Which meant I had to do it. Something like this is why I quit my job in the first place. The opportunity to have epic adventures and push my personal boundaries at the same time.

14273572_10208803347219817_1775450240_o.jpg
This is my "selfies make me feel silly" face.

We met up in Tallahassee, but this pic is from Pensacola. Do you know what there is to take pics of in Tallahassee? Me neither.

This is just the beginning. I'll be writing more about this epic trip, and the pics get better once we hit Texas.

The question is this: Is there anything you're afraid to do? Something you've rejected completely and immediately but didn't give much thought to? It's just not something someone like you would do? Think it over. Are there actual reasons, or is it just your fear talking? How can you lean into that fear?


This entry will also appear on my website www.SeansDays.com . You can also check out my intro post here .

14456739_10208977059402513_412961936_o.jpg

Written with StackEdit.

Sort:  

I'm not afraid of even fear itself!

Haha! You kick ALL the ass!!

I fear commenting on blog posts :)

I seriously can't even count the number of times I've typed something out and entirely deleted it! Especially in an election year...

I said, "I do not fear those pants with nobody inside them." I said, and said, and said those words. I said them but I lied them.
Dr. Seuss, What Was I Scared Of
Great Post! Can't wait to find out more about your motorcycle trip.

Thanks, man. I've got some great pics.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62907.89
ETH 3379.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50