Feeding the masses in aged care

in #blog7 years ago (edited)

20171219_101704.jpg
So today I'm feeling excited.
Usually for a job I'm a cook, but being a casual worker I am classed as a floater. Being able to jump in where needed. Do anything from baking cakes and biscuits, cooking soups, custards and porridge in a 200 litre kettle or cooking mains in a 450 litre bratt pan. But this month I have been in the distribution room.
20171219_060410.jpg
Where 1750 meals leave our facility a day. It has been way to cold for my liking. Most days distribution rooms are held at about 1.6 degrees Celsius.
The food is brought to me after blast chilling process has taken place. From here I bag meals and cryovac them. This is our cryovac machine.
20171219_060713.jpg
From there I pack orders onto trolleys where they are loaded onto the truck and distributed to aged care facilities in the local area.
20171219_060356.jpg
So far I have done three weeks of this and now only have one week to go, so I'm feeling super excited to get out of the cold. Gets a little hot at lunch in our 38 degree summer days, due to the fact I have way to many layers of clothes on. I really just wanted to give you a sneak peak of how it's done.
20171219_060427.jpg
Got to love the whole casual worker situation (I have worked 30 to 38hrs a week, for over a year in this department and worked for the company over two years, but am still casual 😳 Its ok because I have a job. But I want some holidays. Even have to work Christmas 😓 but if we don't, the elderly would not be feed 😀. )

Thanks for reading.
Thanks for your support.

Sort:  

Nice photos. You have a hard job. But noble. It's nice of you to worry about older people. Unfortunately, most of them will not have Christmas visits because their children do not have time for them. That's very sad.

Don't worry there.
The staff in our facilities make sure they have the best christmas and we ensure they have all the trimings.

My hat off to you mate - an important job for sure. thanks for sharing.

Thankyou so much.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58664.80
ETH 2569.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42