Rushing into a Relationship with my Unconscious Part 2

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

Tripod on the Dark Mountain

The office buildings I used to work as a night guard for was owned by a communications company that was failing/downsizing. One whole floor of the building was completely abandoned other than a few classrooms full of chairs and desks that no one used. After I fell asleep on my ride home two months after I’d been told I would be transferred to a day shift I decided, fuck my employers, I’m going to start sleeping on the job. So I found some mover blankets, piled them on a desk and hid a patrol jacket in drawer that made a good pillow. My sleeping nook was on a higher floor where I could see the lights of Denver at night and pink mountains in the morning. I had the first of my intense dreams there and many more that followed.

Empty classroom, morning:

Dream: I think I’m on a mountain at night. It’s hard to tell. It seems there are other mountains or walls growing with thick, soft grass around me but it’s the dark so I can’t tell. There is a light in which I can see my path in the green grass to its end. The air is cool but nice like it’s Autumn or spring in it’s cooler months.

At the end of the path is a statue and an old man. The statue is like a Pi symbol, but a tripod version with no curvy legs. The old man looks happy to see me. He looks like Slavoj Zizek or Ivan Klima. He’s holding Ivan Klima’s book, Spirit of Prague. I think to myself “This man knows his country.” I think that’s the reason he’s joyful. I think or hope that he sees me as on a similar path or at least, that’s what I think he is thinking as I approach him.

I can’t recall whether we interact before the act that matters. I know he’s excited and laughing and I feel at home. We reach out to touch the statue. It has started snowing in big, fat flakes, but the green grass still shows. Something lights the place. It seems like fire light, as if from a torch, but I see no torch. When I look back at the statue I’m touching the dream ends.

I was very happy to see the man and happy when I awoke.

Interpretation: I’ve been reading Ivan Klima’s book Spirit of Prague and it has a lot to do with Jung’s ideas about how collective conscious will sometimes turn on a collective definition of the other, in this case Jews and capitalists.

Mountains are usually hierarchies, caves are some sort of journey to the underworld or unexplored territory and structures like the tripod statue can be representative of societal rules or life organization or it could be some other hierarchy. All that’s what makes this interpretation tricky so bare with me.

I think the statue is how I stand among the other hierarchies (mountains) that make up my country. I think I’ve been shown Ivan Klima’s book because the interactions in it really do reflect things that are going on in our country right now. I think the darkness in which I’m surrounded among the mountains means I haven’t gone into the unknown territory that will give me a place among the hierarchies, but I believe Ivan was pointing the way.

Other Posts:

The Best Fuck You Part 1Part 2Part 3Part 4
Invest in Rain Part1Part 2Part 3
Where does your father do his barnacles? Part 1 Part 2 Part 3 Part 4 Part 5 Part 6 Part7 Part 8 Part 9
Van-life series Part 1
Rushing into a relationship with my unconscious Part1

Bitcoin:1BbqnTuxgbqtAKDwjLY9a6BTQK144ihRv4
Eos: 0x82bE221092b0bCbBD541383720BDb5d8a9A66424
LTC: LiRSDwFPeepcRd6vdjsYs2nymkystswY1V
Ethereum: 0x82bE221092b0bCbBD541383720BDb5d8a9A66424
SALT: 0x82bE221092b0bCbBD541383720BDb5d8a9A66424
BTG: GchnoMfbDhCjC3LTPao8DLoBN1nSuH1NhM
All your feedback is appreciated. More posts to come.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63595.77
ETH 3415.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49