You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The biggest mass murderer in history?

in #blog6 years ago

The same way,you can blame Albert Einstein of killing millions in Hiroshima and Nagasaki.One can crucify the inventors of petroleum for the harm that does to the environment today! If this person hadn't invented these machines,certainly some others from the mankind would incarnate and do the same! The responsible is COLLECTIVE,you and me are part of it!

I'm a rationalist too.I don't believe in Karma at all.

Sort:  

Sorry Sathya, I don't agree. There is evidence that Midgley knew full well that lead in petrol was dangerous, and that he helped hide it. There is also evidence that he knew ethanol would do the same job as lead with respect to engine knock. He is absolutely culpable here.

With the CFCs he didn't know the damage that he was doing, but again he did know that he was using some very nasty chemicals. I am not sure ignorance is much of a defence.

I am not sure you can really argue that if he hadn't done it, someone else would have. That sounds like an assumption to me!

I do accept that there is a collective responsibility to many of the world's ills, and I do not think myself innocent by any means! I am no Thomas Midgley, though.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59524.20
ETH 2999.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77