My Biases and Beliefs

in #blog6 years ago

Much of existence is defined by objective fact (sky is blue, a foot is 12 inches, etc). However, much of what is think is subject to opinion. Even though we people can live in the same era, planet, nation, or city we do not think alike. We see the same world through different eyes. A number of things can affect this from our upbringing to our personalities. Throughout our lives we form the biases, beliefs, and values that guide our choices.

I thought it would be interesting to make a self-inventory of my biases and beliefs. In this way, the reader may development a better understand of me and I may even develop a better understanding of myself. I prefer to not label myself as a member of any particular religion, political party, or movement. Rather, I believe it is more accurate for me to identify with the concepts back of many ideologies. I think it would be fair to stick me with the following labels:

Progressive. Advancements in science, technology, economic development and social organization are vital to the improvement of the human condition. Government should, within reason, shepherd these advancements.

Social liberal. Government should be engaged in preservation of civil liberties, creation of social safety nets, and protection of economic opportunity.

Globalist. The societies and economies of the world are increasingly interconnected, necessitating public policy that maximizes international prosperity.

Mixed economy capitalist. The economy should consist of a well-regulated free market and government-run entities.

Civil Libertarian. One of the most important functions of government is to protect the rights of the individual from itself, organizations, and other individuals.

Pacifist. Not only is nonviolence superior from an ethical and moral perspective, but when combined with civil disobedience it is likely the most powerful tool of social change.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63914.63
ETH 2664.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77