You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: New Smarthphone Photography Theme = Dogs And Share Ideas For Upcoming Themes

in #blog7 years ago (edited)

IMG_8850.JPG

This is Buddy

I wanted to enter but I'm about to post a story about a Syrian refugee and it's a little disrespectful to then post a picture of a dog IMO. So, I forfeit my entry however he needs to have his highlight.

I found Buddy on the streets of Greece. Or he found me. At first he would follow me around, trotting along by my side. I share my dinner with him when I ate out. I lived in a tiny little town so it was fairly easy to find him, plus he would arrive ANYTIME I whistled, as if from nowhere.

Then he started turning up on my doorstep, I'd find him in the morning curled up asleep.

One day I let him in. That was it really haha, game over. I found someone in the UK to adopt him and after some visits to the vet (which cost me a pretty penny) I had him a passport and all his jabs.

Long story short I couldn't give him up at first, I ended up keeping him in Greece. But a few months later I had to move from the town to a new refugee camp, he was still very much a street dog except he slept at my house and was inoculated for rabies etc. But Alexandreia was his home, coupled with the fact that in time he decided the "tamed life" wasn't for him, he wanted to eat rotten meat and puke it up everywhere and do whatever he wanted to do. And he would be determined. I had my focus on the refugees so we had a discussion and he went back to the streets, under the watchful eyes of a local family who look after him. In Greece they feed the dogs and generally they are super friendly and well kept. Of course they're smelly and they have fleas but that's because they live on the streets!

So here he is, 10 month old pup. The rope as his "lead" also doubled up as my belt as I managed to lose about 10 kg in 2 months. I took him in the sea, he fucking hated it and clung to me as if his life depended on it. This is his angry "out-to-sea look" but seriously, the sweetest most gentle dog. He had so much character, I really miss him...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59605.87
ETH 2518.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44