Do you know what this inscription says? Antique firearmsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #blog7 years ago (edited)

This is a long gun I've come into possession of recently. It's a muzzle loader that's in pretty poor shape.

g2.png

I've been trying to figure out what the brand/inscription is. Anyone know?

g3.png

g1.png

Edit - More pictures:

g4.png

g5.png

g6.png

This last one has a stamp on it. It looks like either two leaves with "x" in the middle, maybe crossed swords, and possibly "16" between them.

Update

So far from my research it possibly says "Collins" which would make it a James Collins. That would make it a single barrel percussion shotgun, the "16" likely meaning 16 gauge. I'll update this post again as I get more info for anyone reading and for myself so I can keep all the info together.

James Collins was an English Gunsmith recorded as having premises at The Gun & Pistol Repository, 1-2 Vigo Lane, Regent Street, London between 1825-1832 and 115 Regent Street between 1833-1854. Also, some more info in the discussion at http://britishmilitariaforums.yuku.com/topic/12849

Update 2

I've posted at http://britishmilitariaforums.yuku.com/topic/21909/master/1/ asking for a hand IDing this. Hoping someone knows.

Sort:  

Have you tried doing a rubbing of the inscription to see if the writing is any clearer?

Just tried it and took some more pics as well. It doesn't seem to help the clarity. The outside may be coated in varnish or something along those lines from what I can tell.

I love a good history search but I couldn't figure out what it says. It could say collins but the o looks like an a. The ins also looks like an axo. I couldn't find anything with those letters though. I hope you figure it out. Maybe you could take it into a gun shop or a gun show and someone might know.

You actually just gave me a great idea. While there's no antique gun dealers around here I do have a neighbor whose son is an antique dealer. We'll see if that pans out.

Good luck! I hope you figure it out. You should do an update post if you do.

Thanks, will do.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63747.71
ETH 2543.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66