You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: WTF Nature 1 : Cordyceps and the Zombie Ants

in #blog6 years ago

Very cool and interesting story. Ants can be quite nasty. I had quite a bit of experience with fire ants when I was living in Florida. If you got anywhere near their nest, they would swarm you. You won't know they were on you until you felt the burn. The next day the bites would pus up and itch. Too bad cordyceps didn't target fire ants!

Sort:  

Well, I had a look on Google and the best answer I can give you is that fire ants might be a cordyceps victim! Your response triggered a childhood memory in me. I was in the back garden - I would have been about 4 - playing with the girl across the road, sitting at a table, and I looked down to see an entire ant army marching up my legs. Cue hysteria! The laws of phobias suggest I should hate the little feckers, but I have to say I find them fascinating.

Thanks for stopping by!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57408.28
ETH 3079.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31