UPVOTE: ART #1

in #blog7 years ago (edited)

I think it was @stellabelle who inspired this new path. The struggle I deal with now is that part of me doesn't care how much a post makes. This part of me loves exploring and discovering new ways of expression and collaboration even if it a conversation that occurs in the comments spurring me on to a new area I wouldn't have thought of on my own.

The other part of me gets giddy when I see a whale notice my post. It became a high I would chase to the point of absurdity. On days several whales would find my post, I would feel elated. On days where I put in 7-8 hours of work on a post only to get 20 bucks*, I would get very sad. The amount I was earning through upvotes didn't correlate to the amount of time I put into a post and that left me wondering why I was devoting anything more than an hour to a post.


I went through this struggle for days. I played video games, drew absurd little drawings, and even with several art series underway (and after a successful t-shirt sale to a high profile steemian) I was struggling to write a post.

That is when the seed that @stellabelle planted started to sprout.


@stellabelle's work attire post

Let's look past the muscle suit for a sec. She was holding an upvote. The button I clicked for others was used so often that it disappeared in my mind. It was a bounce from skimming stone I ignored hoping to hit an island.

But that bounce... that upvote was a digital brick on which people have erected lives allowing them to have a hobby, leave their day job, start a project from the community, or buy a car. It is so small, but so powerful for all of us.

I decided to dedicate some time towards making a series of art pieces inspired by the lowly upvote.


Sort:  

Great post and artwork, I liked the little poetry at the end to :D

i m happy sir that u make the card for surfmerly and u tell about in ur last post... i see she select ur card on her every post 2 today ago i saw and really feel glad that she appriciate ur work good wishes u for ur next all talented works @rubenalexander sir

Man, I feel you. 7-8 hours of hard work and I only got $2. lol! but that's okay coz I learned something. It's not about the post but the way we interact with other Steemians. I now use my extra hours to chat on Discord and complement people with their art works like yours. :-D

I understand your struggle. Good art piece!

Wow this is so enchanting. I feel like I'm being teleported into another dimension and if you think about it the power of an upvote does really transport people to a new world, a better place. Steemit will surely revolutionise the world and it all starts with the community graciously building and supporting each other.
Great piece of art @rubenalexander

post a great can be useful can be used as experience .semoga be a friend who can help me in order to like you ..... to dream and hope in reach. like @yooraa need dukugan friend. greetings esteem.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63350.70
ETH 2595.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.85