One word each day: Day 2

in #blog8 years ago (edited)

Today's word is simply beautiful, from the meaning, to pronunciation...no wonder is one of my favorites word. Unlike concoction , yesterday's word...this one has a softer pronunciation, like a feather in the wind..


Source

allure


/əˈljʊə,əˈljɔː/

Now just hear it...

But, what does it mean?

This one word doesn't have multiple meanings, but honestly it doesn't even need multiple definitions. So what's the definition? What is the meaning of such a beautiful word according to dictionaries?

-it means the quality of being powerfully and mysteriously attractive or fascinating.

Even if , it doesn't have so many definitions , it has a lot of synonyms like "attraction", "draw", "appeal", "enticement", "temptation", "persuasion", "magnetism" and even "bewitchment".

A bit of history maybe?

The word allure comes from the Old French aleurer, alurer , from a (to, towards) + leurre(lure).

Apparently the first known use of allure was in 1548, how accurate that might be , i don't know..but what i do know is that this word even landed it's own fashion magazine and its own perfume from Channel.

I'll end this post with a quote i heard some time ago and some how a little warning :

" A well-made lure is so alluring to a fish that it won't notice the hook. "

Hope you enjoyed the reading as much as i enjoyed writing it.


Sources
https://en.wiktionary.org/wiki/allure
http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/allure
https://www.youtube.com/

Sort:  

Maybe I will do a use Tiff's word of the day in a sentence of the day.

The allure of RoyalTiffany's eyes is irresistible.

Ahahahhahah of course !

The fish was allured by my lure, so I caught that motherf*****!!!!

Ahahahahhahh of course you did !!!

What were you using as lure?

I will second that assertion.

I learn everyday new thing by steemit. Thank you for sharing with us

Glad to help :)

It is a good word :P @royaltiffany this post is alluring Heheh.

Indeed , indeed :) Lol

I don't know how, but I feel allured to this idea! ;)

Ahahahhaha very nice :)

If I may, I think this could work out well with this concept. Why don't you make something like this? just the framing, a close up to your mouth/face and saying the word? I think it would work out very well ;)

That could work better if i would have been a native speaker...given my accent it might not be so good.

try it out, see how the audience reacts... better to try and know for a fact than living in an "IF" state ;)

I gotta say....ur so dang smart....make me feel like a dummy (redneck voice)

I am pretty sure you are not a dummy...but as i know you are a native english speaker i assume that some words don't have the same allure for you as they have for me or any other non native english speaker :P

"Ultimate" would be a good idea for a post. It means "last item on a list" but most use it wrong. It makes sense that it's the root for "ultimatum"

I have an unrelated question that I can't get anyone to answer, and I don't want to make a post because I don't want my idea stolen. I was hoping you might know

I planning on starting a "band of the day post" hoping to introduce steemers to some new artists. I was just gonna post one of their music videos, a short bio, my opinion, links to social media and a link to buy their music. Would that be considered stolen content? Sorry to bug , thanks for your time.

I think that would be fine , as long as the music video source allows reposting and as long as you provide all the sources.

It's one thing to just post a video and the bio....and another to actually talk about that specific band, how you found about them, what you liked, what's your favorite song from them etc

Thay was the plan. I'm gonna put some work into the posts. Pictures, cool fonts, and I will definately have a lot to say. I know I can do it legally with most bands, I just didn't want to lose all my reputation on my first post.

Thanks you're the best!

You are welcome , looking forward to read them...

Very french-sounding english word, isn it?

It does come from the French language...

Many words taking their roots from other languages often get changed so much they loose the feel of original .... not the case here

Its miracle it got accepted into vocabulary, knowing the history of english-french animosities grin

Hey...if you ask the germans they'll tell you it's from "luder" , meaning "bait" ...so yeah..

awesome post!... i'm even preparing a series of posts with words from different languages and their meaning. Like the name of my house "Mangata" [i will let you investigate it :P]

Can't wait to read them :)

My native language is Spanish, but you're showing me what beautiful can be english. Thanks!

well said

Just something about that word isnt there

And what would that be ? :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67319.79
ETH 2629.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67