NEW Craft Beer Blog Entry #1

in #blog7 years ago

Posting on Steemit has been an addiction for me. I have shared travel experiences, family life, politics, news stories, but I wanted to try something a little different. I am a craft beer junkie! So I decided I am going to start posting once a week about a different craft beer or two and give you my thoughts. This is my first entry on the topic so I would appreciate your feedback or suggestions of some beers I should try. I will do my best to try beers from other states as well as other countries as to not limit the blog to only Minnesota craft breweries. I will also go out of my comfort zone and dabble in some beer styles I am not familiar or have not had the best experiences with. Don't expect to see all the exact alcohol contents and precise breakdowns of the beers. The goal is to explain the taste, compare it to other beers I have tried, let you know if it is low or high alcohol content, where and when I think it would be best to drink and share the style.
Enjoy!

Citradelic IPA by New Belgium Brewing out of Fort Collins, Colorado

Last night I sipped on one of my favorite beers, Citradelic Tangerine IPA. While searching for a photo for the blog I learned that Citradelic is expanding on flavors and now offers an exotic lime ale, but that will be for another day.
When it comes to craft beers I am the believer that it is hard to make a bad IPA. I am a huge hop head and hops are the bread and butter to any good IPA.


Citradelic Tangerine is a great introductory beer for those that don't venture away from the Miller Light and Bud Light category very often. IPA's are an acquired taste as they tend to be a little bitter. I remember the first time I drank one I thought people were crazy to drink it. This beer is great though! It uses citra hops which give it the orange like flavor. That flavor also makes it a great beach/summer beer! I do not add anything to the beer such as fruit because it doesn't call nor need it. The hops are not over barring and for an IPA it is rather smooth.

I drank this beer right from the bottle, but for full enjoyment I recommend pouring it into a tulip style glass as shown above. This will help release more fruity aroma making the beer drinking experience that much better!
Unlike other IPA's I can drink a few of these without getting a bloated stomach. I would guess that reason for this is that it is smoother and a little lighter then most other IPA's.

Overall I highly recommend New Belgium Brewing's Citradelic IPA. When it comes to smoothness, flavor and above average alcohol content (compared to a generic light beer) it hits all the right notes. So if you are looking to get introduce to the IPA family of beers maybe start out with a Citradelic or any other Citra hopped beer as a good starting point!

Looks like my beer is empty.
I hope you enjoyed this review.
Please Up-Vote, Re-Steem and Follow Me @roundoar03

Steem On!!!

*Images courtesy of Google Images

Sort:  

Of course you would start off with my favorite beer! Can't beat an ice cold Citradelic on a hot summers day.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58051.31
ETH 3136.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44