Christmas hell week.

in #blog6 years ago

Sunday morning at roughly 1230 AM my body began to evacuate itself out of every nearest opening. My wife has been sick an hour earlier, the baby was resting peacefully. A buddy of mine was crashing over after streaming with me, also resting. Unfortunately my buddy was a room away from the most violent stomach evacuation outside of an infectious disease ward. I was firing out of both barrels, and this persisted until roughly 8AM. My buddy woke up at 730, for me some ginger ale and chicken soup. That was the start of my Christmas Eve. The rest of the day consisted of laying on the couch in some near comatose state attempting to rehydrate myself and check on a baby as me and the wife were taking shifts. Baby daughter was a sweetheart on Sunday, and I am thankful for that.

Monday was Christmas. At 0400 hours I hopped into my ambulance and began taking most the suicidal psych patients to mental health treatment facilities. This persisted for 12.5 hours, not a lot of lifting required. Going home exhausted i was greeted by family that lives closer than my job and I see all the time. I fell asleep in front of them on the couch. This mostly concludes my day.

Tuesday morning, 0400 I start my ambulance and proceed to follow another ambulance r
Around the county lifting every bariatric patient we ever take almost all in the same day. 9 hours after I started I was able to take a more appropriate sized patient for the first time, poor tiny grandma almost went airborne as I was used to lifting 400+ lb patients at that point. I slept in the truck as much as I could, I also discovered zantac. Sleep had been near impossible tgis week until zantac stopped the heartburn. That shit changed my life. 13.3 hours worked on a 12 hour rotation.

Wednesday we clock in, 0400, ambulance warms up. We have a slow morning for once, just a few psych patients. The day picks up in the afternoon, but overall not too bad. 13 hours worked on a 12 hour rotation. For night number 2 in a row the baby screams the song of her people at night. The transition to formula is not a smooth one, but it was necessary as the wife was dehydrated.

Thursday. 0400. I clocked in and proceeded to hear the upcoming clusterfuck that was my morning. New dialysis patients added onto a packed schedule of already fat dialysis patients that require 2 crews to lift. Headed to my third bariatric call in a row, so far they all weigh twice what I do.

I am looking forward to rest. It helps that I have gotten some and my body has regained strength. I feel my wits are with me again finally so I can hop back on Steemit and do more than just upvote. I never Cate for the holidays, this week is not helping honestly.

On the plus side it was baby's first Christmas. She got toys and clothes and continues being one of the happiest babies ever, even if she is a little gas bubble. I am looking forward to being able to stream over the weekend, I haven't streamed on twitch since Saturday.

More updates to come. I am counting down the hours of the day in the meantime. Steem on my friends.

image

And for no reason, a picture of a duck in a helmet I found.

Thanks for reading!!! If you made it this far you are awesome. And you could be more awesome by following me on Twitch and YouTube. Both accounts are completely free to make and following me is as easy as clicking the follow button on Twitch or the subscribe on YouTube. And it's free! It costs you nothing and you're just helping me out. So click a link, and follow me! Steem on!

Sort:  

Beep! Beep! @shadow3scalpel at your service. I am here to assist all military members on Steemit. This HumVee will be scouting posts from a list of Veterans that is maintained by @chairborne. If you are a Veteran and new to Steemit, and you have questions or want to join the Veterans community, reply to this comment. We got your six, unless you are in the rear with the gear. Ooh-Rah!
Comment by @inthenow. This is a opt-in bot.

Congratulations @rotfoot! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Pretty sure that's the duck from secret of mana.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 63997.36
ETH 3133.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15